The coach

Mont-Tremblant, QC, Canada - Club De Ski. 2019. ©Gary Yee

Every season I give two or three training sessions for Ski Québec Alpin: mainly the on-snow modules at “development“ and “performance” levels. This forces me to keep up to date with our sport’s technical and tactical approaches and also allows me to compare teaching strategies applied to training with those taught during apprenticeship.

Learning techniques have evolved a lot since I started out. Back then, a good coach had to have two qualities: be a solid skier and above all, have a sharp eye to be able to provide a phenomenal amount of feedback.

Producing that information provided the satisfaction of having done the job. While it worked well to impress skiers, parents and colleagues, this method didn’t cause the athletes to evolve over the long term.

All we succeeded in doing was creating students hooked on this tool. Then, at the beginning of the 2000s, coach training was restructured. The physical (technical), affective and cognitive dimensions as well as training in decision-making (à la Joan Vickers) became integrated into the practice of coaching.

The roles were reversed. The ‘90s skiers asked the coach what they had to do to progress. Now it’s the coach who asks the skier about the choice of solutions to improve. In this way, the athlete gains a better understanding of technical and tactical movements. The coach thus becomes a facilitator of their performances.

The qualities of a good coach have been revised. The coach must have irreproachable ethics. They transmit the values of the sport to the students. They know how to work effectively as a team member. They find training solutions appropriate to every situation.

As coaches, we greatly underestimate the influence we have on our athletes. Good or bad, the relationship you have with your young people will be forever engraved in their memories. It’s up to you to make the difference.

 

More from this author by clicking on his picture below.

Jocelyn Huot

 

Jocelyn Huot20 Posts

Entraineur Chef du Club de ski Mont-Tremblant Entraineur Niveau 4 certifié FESC / PNCE Niveau 3 de l'Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada Formateur pour Alpine Canada depuis 2007 Head coach of the Mont-Tremblant Ski Club Leve 4 FESC/PNCE – certified coach, Level 3 CSIA/AMSC – certified instructor

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le coach

Mont-Tremblant, QC, Canada - Club De Ski Dec 2019. ©Gary Yee

Chaque saison, je donne deux ou trois formations pour Ski Québec Alpin ; principalement les modules sur neige des niveaux « développement » et « performance ». Ceci m’oblige à rester à jour avec les approches technique et tactique de notre sport et me permet aussi de comparer les stratégies pédagogiques appliquées à l’entrainement avec celles enseignées en stage.

Les méthodes d’apprentissage ont beaucoup évolué depuis mes débuts. Dans le temps, un bon coach devait avoir deux qualités : être un solide skieur et surtout, avoir un œil aiguisé pour procurer une quantité phénoménale de rétroactions.

Produire ces informations nous donnait la satisfaction du devoir accompli. Bien qu’efficace pour impressionner les skieurs, les parents et les confrères, cette méthode ne faisait pas évoluer les athlètes sur le long terme.

Tout ce que nous réussissions à préparer, ce sont des élèves accros à cet outil. Puis, au début des années 2000, la formation des entraineurs a été restructurée. Les dimensions physique (technique), affective et cognitive ainsi que l’entrainement à la prise de décision de Joan Vickers y ont été intégrés.

Les rôles ont été inversés. Le skieur des années 90 demandait à l’entraineur ce qu’il devait effectuer pour progresser. Maintenant, c’est l’entraineur qui questionne le skieur sur le choix des solutions pour s’améliorer. Ainsi, les athlètes comprennent mieux l’exécution des gestes techniques et tactiques. L’entraineur devient alors un facilitateur de leurs performances.

Les qualités d’un bon entraineur ont été révisées. Il fait preuve d’une éthique irréprochable. Il transmet les valeurs du sport à ses élèves. Il sait travailler efficacement en équipe. Il trouve des solutions d’entrainement appropriées à chaque situation.

En tant qu’entraineurs, nous sous-estimons beaucoup l’influence que nous avons sur nos athlètes. Bonne ou mauvaise, cette relation avec vos jeunes sera gravée à jamais dans leur mémoire. À vous de faire la différence.

 

Jocelyn Huot16 Posts

Entraineur Chef du Club de ski Mont-Tremblant Entraineur Niveau 4 certifié FESC / PNCE Niveau 3 de l'Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada Formateur pour Alpine Canada depuis 2007 Head coach of the Mont-Tremblant Ski Club Leve 4 FESC/PNCE – certified coach, Level 3 CSIA/AMSC – certified instructor

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password