The domestic cat: a cuddly killer

© AdobeStock

Beneath its cuddly exterior, the domestic cat is a formidable predator. Ten thousand years of domestication have not changed its hunting capabilities, and its impact on populations of birds and small mammals is phenomenal. Can we prevent the harm that kitties do to the small creatures that add so much liveliness to our gardens and woods?

Sharp claws, each buried in a sheath that keeps it sharp; pointed teeth that pierce the neck of small prey; springy pads, to move silently; acute vision; sensitive hearing; ability to run fast … the cat has the arsenal of the perfect predator. When outdoors, even a well fed cat can’t resist the appeal of a bird, shrew or mouse and will try to catch it.

Its hunting instinct induces it to build food reserves. When kitty proudly brings you the results of its hunt, you should know that it simply wants to keep the family pantry stocked.

According to a survey done in 2017, 33 per cent of Québec households have at least one cat, so there are approximately two million domestic cats in Québec, plus the homeless cats living in the wild. It is estimated that at least half of the house-cats hunt when they’re outdoors and that each hunter kills about 30 prey a year. A homeless or feral cat captures more than 1000 prey.

According to Environment Canada, cats kill more than 134 million birds annually across Canada, plus millions of small mammals. To prevent this slaughter, keep your cat indoors or attach it when it is outdoors. If you let it go outside alone, equip it with a bell or visible collar to reduce its hunting success. Don’t let it go outdoors after dark, when birds are at their most vulnerable.

Make sure to have your animal neutered to avoid unwanted kittens and never abandon your animal into the wild: take it to a shelter, where they can find it a new home. Be aware, too, that a cat kept indoors can live as much as six times longer than a homeless or wandering cat.

animalium.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott87 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Le chat domestique, adorable tueur

© AdobeStock

Sous des dehors câlins, le chat domestique est un prédateur redoutable. Dix mille ans de domestication n’ont pas altéré ses capacités de chasseur et son impact sur les populations d’oiseaux et de petits mammifères est phénoménal. Peut-on empêcher minou de nuire à la petite faune qui égaie nos jardins et nos bois ?

Griffes acérées enfouies dans un fourreau qui préserve leur tranchant, canines pointues qui percent la nuque des petites proies, coussinets élastiques assurant une marche silencieuse, vision précise, audition sensible, rapide à la course, le chat possède l’arsenal du parfait prédateur.

Lors de ses sorties en plein air, un chat même bien nourri ne résiste pas à l’appel d’un oiseau, d’une musaraigne ou d’une souris et cherchera à l’attraper. Son instinct de chasseur opportuniste l’incite à constituer une réserve de nourriture. Lorsque minou vous apporte fièrement le fruit de sa chasse, sachez qu’il veut simplement garnir le garde-manger familial.

Selon un sondage réalisé en 2017, 33% des foyers québécois possèdent au moins un chat pour une population totale d’environ 2 millions de félins, sans compter les chats sans domicile retournés à l’état sauvage. On estime qu’au moins la moitié des chats de maison profitent de leurs sorties pour chasser et chaque chasseur tue environ 30 proies par an. Un chat errant pour sa part en capture plus de 1000.

Selon Environnement Canada, plus de 134 millions d’oiseaux sont ainsi victimes des chats chaque année dans l’ensemble du Canada, sans compter les millions de petits mammifères. Pour éviter l’hécatombe, gardez votre chat à l’intérieur de la maison ou attachez-le lorsqu’il prend l’air. Si vous le laissez sortir seul, munissez-le d’une clochette ou d’une collerette voyante pour réduire son succès de chasse.

Ne le laissez pas sortir en soirée, alors que les oiseaux sont les plus vulnérables. Assurez-vous de châtrer votre animal pour éviter les naissances non désirées et n’abandonnez jamais votre animal dans la nature ; remettez-le plutôt à un refuge qui saura lui trouver un nouveau foyer. Notez qu’un chat qui reste à la maison peut vivre jusqu’à six fois plus longtemps qu’un chat errant.

animalium.ca

 

Plus ce cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Jacques Prescott

 

Jacques Prescott81 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password