La proprioception au golf

© Gary Yee

Golf is a sport of sensory perceptions and reflex conditioning. Most of the time, the technique used by the player is based on their physical and athletic skills. Consequently, if you want to achieve a more effective swing, start by improving your flexibility, coordination, strength, endurance and agility.

Of all the physical attributes, the most important one to develop is your proprioception: the “sixth sense” we all have and which translates into the body’s ability to perceive its own position in space and time. Among other things, proprioception allows you to:

  • Recognize that you are supported by and perfectly balanced on your left leg throughout the period of an approach shot;
  • Feel the pressure of your hands gently exerted on the club (more accentuated on the three last fingers of the left hand);
  • Perceive the spatial orientation of your body and your club without even looking at them;
  • Recognize the separation, connection and linking of the movements which create the proper sequence in space and time.

In addition, proprioception allows your body to perform precise, fluid and simultaneous actions without your having to stop and control each one separately. It’s an ability we take for granted … until it disappears in a situation of extreme stress. Happily, with a bit of training, this natural ability can be developed considerably.

With the right postural position and the key address positions, the golfer creates a chain of proprioceptive reactions which sets off the correct motor response and execution of the desired action. The following exercise stimulates the proprioceptive engagement and the right reflexes.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

La proprioception au golf

© Gary Yee

Le golf est un sport de perceptions sensorielles et d’automatismes. La majorité du temps, la technique employée par le joueur est calquée sur ses habiletés physiques et athlétiques. Ainsi, si vous souhaitez un élan plus performant, commencez par améliorer votre souplesse, votre coordination, votre force, votre endurance et votre agilité.

De toutes les prédispositions physiques, la plus importante à développer est votre proprioception ; ce “sixième sens” dont nous sommes tous pourvus et qui se traduit par la capacité du corps à percevoir sa propre position dans l’espace et le temps. La proprioception vous permet entre autres de :

  • Reconnaître que vous êtes en appui et en équilibre parfait sur votre jambe gauche pendant toute la durée d’un coup d’approche ;
  • Sentir les pressions des mains délicatement exercées sur le bâton (plus accentuées sur les trois derniers doigts de la main gauche) ;
  • Percevoir l’orientation spatiale qu’occupent votre corps et votre bâton sans même les regarder ;
  • Reconnaître la séparation, le lien et l’enchaînement des mouvements créant la bonne séquence dans l’espace et dans le temps.

De plus, la proprioception permet au corps d’effectuer des actions précises, fluides et simultanées sans que vous ayez à vous arrêter pour contrôler chacune d’elles séparément. C’est une faculté que nous tenons tous pour acquise – jusqu’à ce qu’elle se dérobe en situation de stress extrême.

Heureusement, avec un peu d’encadrement, cette habileté naturelle se développe considérablement. Avec une attitude posturale correcte et des positions clés dès l’adresse, le golfeur crée une chaîne de réactions proprioceptives qui enclenche la bonne réponse motrice et l’exécution de l’action souhaitée. L’exercice suivant stimule l’enclenchement proprioceptif et les bons réflexes.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Pierre Brisebois

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password