The Saint-Louis family

The ancestor of the Saint-Louis family, so well known in our region, was born in Sorel. After completing his classical studies in the 1850s, Albert – for that was his name – went to Port Albert, in Western Canada, for work. There he met Kate McLaughlin, whom he married, and the young couple came to settle in Saint-Jovite.

Albert was a farmer, and his land was on Rang 8; their home was built on what became the Gray Rocks landing strip. In addition to working the farm, Albert was the secretary and mastercantor of the parish church. The family grew and the couple had 10 children.

When one of their sons, Charles, born in 1894, died at the age of three, Albert and Kate decided to give the name to one of their later children, born on May 19, 1903. He was known by the family as “Charles the second”. He married Dorina Tassé on May 26, 1928. The family that they created played an important role in my youth.

Charles and Dorina took over the family farm. Charles was also a logger, the Wheeler family’s handyman, and a labourer for Joseph Ryan. He was also a barkeep before launching himself into the restaurant business. In 20 years, Donna would give birth to 11 children: Marcel (1928), Raymond (1930), Claude (1931), Guy (1932), Marielle (1933), Denise (1937), Jacques (1940), Lise (1942), Huguette (1943), Monique (1946) and Ginette (1948).

In 1946, Charles and Dorina Saint-Louis bought the restaurant called the Snack Bar from their brother-in-law; it was located on the shore of Lac Mercier, in front of the hotel which at the time was called the Chalet du lac. When I started school, at the sisters of Sainte-Croix convent, we were living on Mont Tremblant’s North Side.

The road called Chemin Duplessis existed, but it was a dirt road and an 18-km trip to get to school. As a result, I had to have lunch at school. My parents didn’t consider a sandwich adequate to keep me alert during the long afternoon at school, so they looked for a solution. My mother arranged with Mme Saint-Louis that I would join their family at lunchtime to share their meal with them.

My mother warned Mme Saint-Louis that I was a bit fussy about eating and not to be surprised if I didn’t eat much. So for the first time in my life I found myself at a table where there were more children than adults. A table where the selection that day was… whatever was on your plate. Everybody talked, although politely and in a disciplined manner, and it was over in 30 minutes.

As an only child, I was in heaven to be accepted into this big family. And to my mother’s great surprise, she learned from Mme Saint-Louis that I ate everything and asked for more. This arrangement continued until I left for high school in Sainte- Agathe-des-Monts. Charles Saint-Louis continued to develop his business.

The family, which operated and maintained the beach in front of the hotel, acquired nearby houses, which they rented out. They even bought the presbytery to transform it into a restaurant called L’abbé du Nord. In 1960, Claude and Raymond developed Mont Plaisant, a ski area, right in the middle of the Village. I skied Mont Plaisant to do slalom training when I returned from competitions.

In 1968, the hotel La Porte Rouge was taken over in joint ownership by their son Raymond, their daughter Huguette and her husband Guy Dubois. In 1978, Marc and Christine, Raymond’s children, took over the reins and retained that role until the property was bought by the Ville de Mont- Tremblant.

Gilles, Guy’s son, operated “les entreprises GLC”, now taken over by his son Frédéric, thus forming the fifth generation of entrepreneurs in that family. It should be noted, as well, that the Saint-Louis family is still involved in the community. Charles (father) and Claude (son) have been school board commissaires d’école and church wardens. Jacques (son) was the secretary treasurer of the municipality of Mont-Tremblant and municipal councillor.

Claude and Raymond have also served as municipal councillors. Nowadays, the Saint-Louis family continues to evolve in Mont-Tremblant: the story is not over and continues to be written.

 

By the same author: Gaston Gervais: he did it his way (Click the image below)

 

Peter Duncan46 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

La famille Saint-Louis

L’ancêtre de la famille Saint-Louis connu dans notre région était natif de Sorel. Après avoir terminé ses études classiques dans les années 1850, Albert, de son prénom, se rendit dans l’Ouest canadien, à Port Albert, pour le travail. Il y rencontra Kate McLaughlin, qu’il épousa, et le jeune couple vint s’établir à Saint- Jovite.

La terre d’Albert, qui était fermier, se trouvait sur le rang 8 et leur maison fut érigée sur ce qui est devenu la piste d’atterrissage du Gray Rocks. En plus d’exploiter la ferme, Albert était secrétaire et maître-chantre à l’église paroissiale. La famille s’agrandit et le couple eut dix enfants.

Albert et Kate décident de donner à leur fils, né le 19 mai 1903, le prénom de Charles en souvenir de leur fils né en 1894 et mort à l’âge de trois ans. Celui-ci sera connu au sein de la famille comme « Charles le deuxième ». Ce dernier épousera Dorina Tassé le 26 mai 1928. La famille qu’ils formeront jouera un rôle important dans ma jeunesse.

Charles et Dorina prirent la relève sur la ferme paternelle. Charles fut aussi bûcheron, homme à tout faire pour la famille Wheeler et manœuvre pour Joseph Ryan. Il sera également barman avant de se lancer en restauration. En 20 ans, Dorina donnera naissance à 11 enfants. Marcel (1928), Raymond (1930), Claude (1931), Guy (1932), Marielle (1933), Denise (1937), Jacques (1940), Lise (1942), Huguette (1943), Monique (1946) et Ginette (1948).

En 1946, Charles et Dorina Saint-Louis achetèrent à leur beau-frère le restaurant le Snack Bar, situé sur le bord du lac Mercier, devant ce qui était à l’époque l’hôtel Chalet du lac. Ils quittèrent la ferme en 1948 avec leurs enfants pour s’installer au lac Mercier. Au moment où je commençais à fréquenter l’école, au couvent des sœurs Sainte-Croix, nous habitions le Versant Nord du mont Tremblant.

Le chemin Duplessis était construit, mais il était en terre et le trajet était de 18 km pour se rendre à l’école. Je devais donc prendre le lunch à l’école. Mes parents considéraient qu’un sandwich ne serait pas suffisant pour me garder alerte durant les longues heures de classe. Ils cherchèrent donc une solution.

Ma mère s’entendit avec Mme Saint-Louis et je me joignis à sa famille sur l’heure du dîner pour partager le repas avec eux. Ma mère avisa Mme Saint Louis que j’étais quelque peu capricieux à table et de ne pas s’étonner si je ne mangeais pas beaucoup. Voilà que pour la première fois de ma vie, je me retrouvai assis à une table où l’on comptait plus d’enfants que d’adultes.

Une table où la sélection du jour, et bien… c’était ce qu’il y avait dans l’assiette. Tout le monde parlait, mais avec politesse et discipline, et en 30 minutes, c’était terminé. J’étais au paradis en tant que fils unique d’être accepté ainsi dans cette grande famille. Quelle ne fut pas la surprise de ma mère d’apprendre de Mme Saint-Louis que je mangeais de tout et en redemandais.

Et ce fut ainsi jusqu’à ce que je fréquente le High-school de Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts. Charles Saint-Louis continua à développer son commerce. Des chambres s’ajoutèrent au restaurant et l’hôtel de la Porte Rouge naquit. La famille, qui exploitait et entretenait la plage devant l’hôtel, fit l’acquisition de maisons qu’elle mit en location.

Elle acheta même le presbytère pour le transformer en un restaurant qui fut appelé L’abbé du Nord. En 1960, Claude et Raymond développèrent le Mont Plaisant, en plein cœur du Village. Je fréquentais ce centre de ski à mon retour de compétitions pour m’y entrainer au slalom.

En 1968, l’hôtel La Porte Rouge fut repris en copropriété par leur fils Raymond, leur fille Huguette et son mari Guy Dubois. En 1978, Marc et Christine, les enfants de Raymond, prirent les rênes, et ce, jusqu’à ce que la Ville de Mont-Tremblant en fasse l’acquisition. Gilles, le fils de Guy, exploita les entreprises GLC, maintenant reprises par son fils Frédéric, formant ainsi la cinquième génération d’entrepreneurs de cette famille.

Fait notable, la famille Saint Louis s’est toujours impliquée dans la communauté. Charles (père) et Claude (fils) ont été commissaires d’école et marguilliers. Jacques (fils) fut secrétaire-trésorier de la municipalité de Mont-Tremblant et conseiller municipal. Claude et Raymond ont également servi comme conseillers municipaux. De nos jours, la famille Saint-Louis continue d’évoluer à Mont-Tremblant.

L’histoire n’est donc pas terminée et continue de s’écrire.

 

Du même auteur : À la manière de Gaston Gervais (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Peter Duncan50 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password