The Matte family

Rosario Matte. ©Courtoisie

As businesses are being developed throughout the Laurentians, we note that small villages are losing their vitality and cachet because the grocery stores and service stations that have been family-managed for generations are closing their doors.

Travellers no longer have a reason to visit and slowly, the villages lose their charm. Happily for us, the Village district (on lac Mercier) is still vibrant because of the services available: Hôtel Mont-Tremblant, Bonichoix grocery store and, for 76 years, the Matte garage.

Rosario Matte
& Fernande Clément. ©Courtoisie

In fact, the Matte garage is the only remaining family business in the village, now managed by the third generation. But let’s go back to the beginning. In 1946 Rosario Matte, born in Mont-Tremblant in 1914, acquired a service station operated by Shell.

At the time, few Mont-Tremblant people owned an automobile, but an increasing number of tourists were arriving by car. Rosario had a basic knowledge of mechanics and, of course, cars then were not as complicated then as they are today. Besides, speaking of which, Rosario’s grandchildren admit that he “learned on-the-job.”

In 1947, he married Fernande Clément — daughter of Albert and Euphémie Clément – and together they had three children: Carmen, Carol and Richard. Rosario was devoted to his customers, and his clientele grew thanks to the attraction of Tremblant Ski Resort, Gray Rocks and Villa Bellevue.

But all was not rosy. In 1960, the garage was destroyed by a fire caused by an electrical issue. Rosario didn’t give up, however. I never saw Rosario Matte do nothing. He was stout-hearted and strong and never left a customer in the lurch, even when he was totally overworked. He would say: “Don’t worry, Peter, just leave it with me and I’ll take care of it.”

Carol Matte. ©Courtoisie

The Matte garage was reliable and efficient, just like Rosario. His son Carol had a three-vehicle taxi company which he sold to his father after operating it for six years. Then he left Mont-Tremblant to work for 13 years as a mechanic on City of Montreal buses.

In 1990, he returned – with solid experience – to take over the family garage The decision to return to Mont-Tremblant was not an easy one for the family head, however. Carol was a driver for Bombardier in the early ‘70s, racing snowmobiles. He came in fourth in the World Championships in Wisconsin in 1971. He was part of the crowd that included brothers Gilles and Jacques Villeneuve, as well as the famous Yvon Du Hamel. His being part of that group says a lot about his talent.

But Carol opted for stability. That same year, he married Danièle Dufresne, and they were to have two children, Mélanie and Nicolas. Carol was a hero to all the tourists whose cars were unwilling to start in the deep cold of Mont Tremblant.

On a typical day, Carol and a few employees could rescue 50 cars a day. There were even times when he towed the cars to the garage to get them started in its warmth. The space wasn’t big enough indoors, however, so he would get up in the night and, helped by Rosario, start the engines. While Carol had the same work ethic as his father, he could be…well… a bit annoying at times.

Nicolas, Léa, Mélanie, Loïc,
Danièle et Raphaël. ©Courtoisie

When he had the towing contract at the base of the Mont Tremblant slopes, he recognized my car parked there and decided to tow it away and hide it. Imagine what went through my mind when, at the end of my ski day, I couldn’t find my car where I’d left it. I searched for it, and I told myself that I was really out to lunch, and was going in circles when Carol slowly approached me in his truck. With a big grin, he said, “Get in, ‘cause you’ll never find it.” He really got me!

Carol passed away on July 1, 2020.

The Matte garage is still there, like a beacon in the night. Now it’s Danièle and her children who are in charge. They’re at the heart of the village and for 76 years, they’ve also been the heart of the village. When I watch that third generation of the Matte family at work, I tell myself that passion, reliability and pride in work well done is unquestionably in the genes.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan80 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

La famille Matte

Rosario Matte. ©Courtoisie

Alors que des commerces se développent partout dans les Laurentides, nous constatons que les petits villages perdent de leur vitalité parce que les épiceries et les stations-service gérées par des familles ferment leurs portes.

Les voyageurs n’ont plus de raison d’y passer et doucement, le village perd de son attrait. Heureusement pour nous, le secteur Village (lac Mercier) est encore vibrant grâce aux services offerts — Hôtel Mont-Tremblant, épicerie Bonichoix et depuis 76 ans, le garage Matte.

Le garage Matte est d’ailleurs le seul commerce au village qui soit encore une entreprise familiale gérée maintenant par la troisième génération. Mais revenons au début. C’est en 1946 que Rosario Matte, né à Mont-Tremblant en 1914, fait l’acquisition d’une station-service opérée par la compagnie Shell.

Rosario Matte
& Fernande Clément. ©Courtoisie

À cette époque, peu de Tremblantois possèdent une voiture, mais de plus en plus de touristes s’aventurent à venir en auto. Rosario avait une connaissance de base en mécanique et, avouons-le, les voitures n’étaient pas aussi compliquées que celles d’aujourd’hui. D’ailleurs, à ce sujet, les petits enfants de Rosario admettent qu’il a « appris sur le tas ».

En 1947, il épouse Fernande Clément — fille de Albert et Euphémie Clément —, qui leur donnera trois enfants : Carmen, Carol et Richard. Rosario est un homme dévoué à sa clientèle qui s’accroit grâce aux pôles d’attraction que sont le Centre de villégiature Tremblant, Gray Rocks et le Villa Bellevue.

Mais tout n’est pas rose. Le garage est détruit par le feu en 1960 à la suite d’un problème électrique. Rosario ne baissa pas les bras pour autant. Je n’ai jamais vu Rosario Matte ne rien faire. Il était vaillant et ne laissait jamais un client dans le pétrin, même s’il était débordé de travail. Il disait : « inquiète-toi pas mon Peter, laisse-moi ça et je m’en occupe ».

Carol Matte. ©Courtoisie

Le garage Matte était fiable et efficace, comme Rosario. Son fils Carol possédait alors une compagnie de taxi avec trois véhicules qu’il vendra à son père après six ans d’exploitation. Puis, il quittera Mont-Tremblant pour travailler pendant 13 ans comme mécanicien sur les autobus de la ville de Montréal.

En 1990, il reprit le garage familial doté d’une solide expérience. Toutefois, la décision de revenir à Mont- Tremblant est un choix de chef de famille. Pilote chez Bombardier au début des années 70, Carol faisait de la course de motoneige. Il se classa quatrième aux championnats du monde au Wisconsin en 1971. Il était de la génération des frères Gilles et Jacques Villeneuve ainsi que du célèbre Yvon Du Hamel. Qu’il fasse partie de ce groupe en dit long sur son talent.

Mais Carol opte pour la stabilité. Cette même année, il épousera Danièle Dufresne. Ils auront deux enfants, Mélanie et Nicolas. Carol est le héros de tous les touristes dont les voitures ne veulent pas démarrer dans les grands froids du mont Tremblant.

Une journée type, Carol et quelques employés pouvaient dépanner 50 voitures par jour. Il y avait même des occasions où il remorquait les voitures dans le garage pour les démarrer au chaud. L’espace n’étant pas suffisant à l’intérieur, il se levait la nuit et, aidé par Rosario, ils faisaient tourner les moteurs. Si Carol avait la même rigueur de travail que son père, il était aussi, comment dire… un peu tannant parfois.

Nicolas, Léa, Mélanie, Loïc,
Danièle et Raphaël. ©Courtoisie

Alors qu’il détient le contrat de remorquage au pied des pentes du mont Tremblant, il reconnaît ma voiture stationnée et décide de la remorquer pour la cacher. Imaginez ma tête lorsqu’à la fin de ma journée de ski, je ne retrouve pas mon auto là où je l’ai laissée. Je cherche, je me dis que je suis vraiment dans la lune et je tourne en rond quand s’avance lentement Carol dans son camion. Avec un grand sourire, il me dit « Embarque, tu ne la trouveras jamais ». Il m’avait bien eu !

Carol nous a quittés le 1er juillet 2020.

Le garage Matte est toujours là, comme un phare dans la nuit. C’est maintenant Danièle et ses enfants qui sont aux commandes. Ils sont au cœur du village et depuis 76 ans, ils sont aussi le cœur du village. Quand je regarde cette 3e génération de Matte au travail, je me dis que l’ardeur, la fiabilité et la fierté du travail bien accompli, c’est sûrement dans les gènes.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan80 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password