The Salomon Classic is back

© Paul MacKay

Cancelled in 2020 for reasons we know all too well, the Tremblant Salomon Classic is back this year. The event will be held on October 23 and invites trail running enthusiasts – beginners, intermediates and experts – to undertake this mountainous challenge in the midst of the boreal autumn.

The event is an excellent opportunity to get to know trail running, but it also represents one of the toughest challenges of its kind in Quebec. In addition to the 1 km distance, which invites youngsters aged 12 and under to hit the trail in safety, the runners can choose from among five different distances. The 3 km and 5 km are both for youth for whom the 1 km is no longer a challenge, and for people new to racing along mountain trails.

The 10 km, the event’s “signature” challenge, remains the most popular distance and lets the runners discover a magnificent trail, in a slightly less familiar part of Mont Tremblant, which links the Johannsen to the Sasquatch. The 10 km provides a technical challenge and a change of altitude that varies between 250 and 275 metres.

As for the 20 km and 30 km, they’re for expert runners eager for even tougher challenges. With more than 1,500 metres of height to climb, the 30 km undoubtedly represents the event’s ultimate test. Patrick Lussier, the event cofounder and race co-director admits, however, to having toned down the course very slightly.

For those who would like to try trail running, Patrick Lussier suggests starting by running on mountain trails and allowing the trail itself to dictate the speed of the legs and heartbeat, particularly when the trail is climbing. “One step at a time”, he concludes. It’s the motto of the great trail runners.

All the details at tremblant.ca/things-to-do/events

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

La Classique Salomon est de retour

© Paul Mackay

Annulée en 2020 pour les raisons que l’on connait, la Classique Salomon Tremblant est de retour cette année. L’évènement se déroulera le 23 octobre et invite les amateurs de course en sentiers – néophytes, intermédiaires et experts – à ce défi en pleine montagne au cœur de l’automne boréal.

Cet évènement est une excellente occasion de s’initier à la course en sentier, mais représente également l’un des défis les plus corsés de cette discipline au Québec. En plus de la distance de 1 km, qui invite les enfants de 12 ans et moins à se lancer sur un sentier en toute sécurité, les coureurs peuvent choisir entre cinq différentes distances.

Le 3 et le 5 kilomètres s’adressent à la fois aux jeunes pour qui le 1 km n’a plus de secret et aux nouveaux adeptes de la course en sentiers montagneux. Le 10 km, l’épreuve ‘’signature‘’ de l’évènement, demeure la distance la plus populaire et propose de découvrir un magnifique sentier dans un secteur un peu moins connu du mont Tremblant qui relie la Johannsen à la Sasquatch. Il représente un défi technique et offre un dénivelé qui oscille entre 250 et 275 mètres.

Quant aux 20 et 30 km, ils s’adressent aux coureurs experts avides de défis plus relevés. Avec plus de 1 500 mètres de dénivelé positif à gravir, le 30 km représente sans aucun doute l’épreuve ultime de l’évènement. Patrick Lussier, cofondateur et codirecteur de course de l’évènement, confie cependant avoir adouci quelque peu le parcours.

Pour les personnes désirant s’initier à la course en sentier, Patrick Lussier conseille de commencer à courir sur des sentiers en montagne et de laisser cette dernière dicter le rythme des jambes et du cœur, surtout lors des montées. « Un pas à la fois », conclut-il. C’est l’adage des grands coureurs de trails.

Tous les détails sur tremblant.ca/quoi-faire/evenements

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password