Karl Hilzinger: up for every challenge (Part one)

© Courtoisie

Watching the Paralympics last month, I was stunned and inspired by the performances of athletes from around the world. I’m going to tell you the story of an athlete who was among Mont-Tremblant’s elite for many years.

Karl Hilzinger was born in Montreal in 1932 and his passion for football led him to take up the sport. Considered to be one of Montreal’s best athletes, he was a member of junior football’s Notre Dame Maple Leafs. In 1952, he tried his luck at the Montreal Alouettes’ training camp but was not selected. He tried out again in 1953 and played for two seasons with the Saskatchewan Roughriders. In 1955, he came east to play

© Courtoisie

with the Ottawa Rough Riders. He wound up his football career in 1959.

Karl was an energetic man who didn’t limit himself to a single sport. Between seasons, he skied Mont Tremblant and, in the summer, he played golf. I met him in the winter of ’55-’56. At the time he was a teacher with the ski school directed by the flamboyant and highly regarded Ernie McCulloch.

Karl had a fine physique and was much requested as a model, particularly by bathing suit companies.

Nothing stopped him; he liked to respond to all kinds of challenges. During a trip to Acapulco, he saw the famous cliff divers who, from 35 metres, demonstrated their diving talent and their courage.

That’s all it took for Karl: the challenge and public attention were enough to get him to try this dangerous sport. He asked the local officials about it and took the training required. The result? Karl became a cliff diver.

Overall, you could say that Karl Hilzinger had everything going for him. He was handsome, he was strong, and he was a well-known athlete. His engaging personality made him as popular with men as he was with women. Life was good.

It was in 1964 that Karl Hilzinger’s life flipped. I was with a group of friends one night at the Villa Bellevue; conversation was lively and there was a lot of laughter. At the end of the evening, when it was time to head home, the group started to disperse. Karl and one of his friends were the first to leave.

Karl had a new car, a red convertible. The friend took the wheel. I can imagine Karl saying to his buddy: “Hey, here are the keys. You’ll see how well it goes.” Fifteen minutes later, a stranger arrived at the Villa Bellevue as I was getting ready to leave. He said there’d been an accident on the road and a car had hit a high-tension electric pole. He added that the car was still right-side up, that it was located between the road and the lake and that the police were on their way.

We figured that it was probably a minor accident, but when he mentioned that the car was a red convertible, we hurried off to the site. Maybe Karlo needed us.

To be continued…

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Karl Hilzinger : l’homme de tous les défis (Première partie)

© Courtoisie

En regardant les paralympiques le mois dernier, j’étais ébahi et inspiré par les performances des athlètes du monde entier. Je vais vous conter l’histoire d’un athlète qui a fait partie du gotha de Mont-Tremblant pendant de nombreuses années.

Karl Hilzinger est né à Montréal en 1932 et sa passion pour le sport l’amènera au football. Il est considéré comme un des meilleurs athlètes de Montréal et il fera partie des Maple Leafs de Notre-Dame au football junior. En 1952, il tente sa chance au camp d’entraînement pour les Alouettes de Montréal, mais ne sera pas sélectionné. Il réitérera son essai en 1953 et il performera deux saisons avec les Rough Riders de la Saskatchewan. En 1955, il revient dans l’est du pays pour jouer avec les Rough Riders d’Ottawa. Il y finira sa carrière de footballeur en 1959.

© Courtoisie

Karl est un homme énergique et ne se limite pas à un seul sport. Entre les saisons, il skie au mont Tremblant et l’été, il joue au golf. J’ai fait sa connaissance durant l’hiver 55-56. Il était alors moniteur à l’école de ski dirigée par le flamboyant et très réputé Ernie McCulloch.

Karl a un physique très avantageux ; il est ainsi sollicité comme mannequin, particulièrement par les compagnies de maillots de bain.

Rien ne l’arrêtait, il se sentait interpellé par toutes sortes de défis. Lors d’un voyage à Acapulco, il y observe les célèbres plongeurs de falaise qui, depuis 35 mètres de haut, font des démonstrations de leur talent et de leur courage.

Il n’en faut pas plus pour Karl ; le défi et l’attention du public suffisent pour qu’il fasse l’essai de ce sport dangereux. Il s’informe auprès des autorités locales et entreprend l’entraînement requis. Résultat ; Karl deviendra plongeur de falaises.

De façon générale on peut dire que Karl Hilzinger a tout pour lui. Il est beau, il est fort, c’est un athlète reconnu. Sa personnalité engageante le rend très populaire autant auprès des hommes que des femmes. Tout lui sourit dans la vie.

C’est en 1964 que la vie de Karl Hilzinger bascule. Nous étions un groupe d’amis réunis au Villa Bellevue, la conversation était animée et les rires fusaient de partout. En début de soirée, à l’heure de retourner à la maison, le groupe commence à se disperser. Karl et un de ses amis sont les premiers à partir.

Karl a une nouvelle auto ; une décapotable rouge. C’est l’ami qui prend le volant. J’imagine Karl dire à son chum : « Tiens, prends les clés tu vas voir comme elle va bien ».

Quinze minutes plus tard, un inconnu arrive au Villa Bellevue alors que je m’apprête à quitter l’endroit. Il annonce qu’il y a un accident sur la route, une auto a percuté un poteau électrique haute tension. Il ajoute que la voiture est toujours sur ses quatre roues, qu’elle est située entre la route et le lac et que les policiers sont en route.

Nous déduisons que c’est probablement un incident mineur, mais lorsqu’il mentionne qu’il s’agit d’une décapotable rouge, nous nous empressons d’aller sur les lieux. Karlo a peut-être besoin de notre aide.

À suivre…

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password