Karl Hilzinger : le « skieur au costume argenté » (Deuxième partie)

Karl Hilzinger & Chris Koch. © War Amps association

The “skier in the silver suit”: Karl Hilzinger (Part two)

When I got to the site of the accident, the scene appeared otherworldly. The police and Dr. Dupré were already there. Karl was stretched out on the ground: an electric cable lay across his right arm and chest and another had gone through his legs.

I was frozen in place, and saw only Karl and Dr. Dupré. Our gazes locked and, in his eyes, I read that nothing could be done. The ambulance personnel expected to head for Sainte-Agathe-des-Monts, but Dr. Dupré said no. He asked them to take Karl to the emergency department in a Montreal hospital, where Karl came back to life after being declared clinically dead. Later on, it was Dr. Dupré himself who created the plaster casts used to make Karl’s artificial limbs.

Against all expectations, Karl survived his injuries. His right arm and his ribcage were severely burned and his legs had to be amputated above the knee. He underwent multiple surgical procedures and numerous skin grafts. His friends from football and skiing had themselves tested for an eventual skin donation. My own test showed that I was not compatible.

Karl’s accident made me realize that even though we think we’re invincible, we’re not. It also made me ask myself quite often whether we would have had the courage and determination he showed in overcoming such harrowing ordeals.

I won’t go into detail on Karl’s long rehabilitation, which was a very painful period. The most important thing to emphasize is what he achieved after the accident. The daring athlete now felt he had a new mission.

Karl was determined to find new ways to practise the sports he loved. It was he who came up with the prostheses and fine-tuned the techniques that allowed him to pursue his passions. He became a sports pioneer for persons with handicaps. He could be seen skimming down the slopes and also playing golf with his trademark humour and sunny disposition.

In 1976, he joined The War Amps association as a sports consultant. Inspired by their motto, “It’s what remains that counts”, and their philosophy, “Amputees helping amputees”, he created the program called The Winners. He transmitted his love of sport to all the Winners across Canada through seminars and workshops and by giving courses in skiing and golf.

His commitment and inspiration are immortalized in the film “Par-delà les pentes” (Beyond the slopes). The 24-minute film, shot at Mont Tremblant, highlights his positive influence over young persons with handicaps whom he introduced to skiing. A star in the War Amps commercials, Karl remained, for several generations, “the skier in the silver suit”.

Karl Hilzinger died on December 15, 1988. Although he never participated in the Paralympic Games, from my perspective his inspiring actions with respect to persons with handicaps is well worth a gold medal.

Bravo, champ, for the enormous courage you demonstrated. You inspired us all.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Karl Hilzinger : le « skieur au costume argenté » (Deuxième partie)

Karl Hilzinger & Chris Koch. © Association des Amputés de guerre

À mon arrivée sur le site de l’accident, la scène me paraît surréaliste. La police et le Dr Dupré sont déjà sur place. Karl est allongé à même le sol ; un câble électrique lui traverse le bras droit et la poitrine, un autre lui a transpercé les jambes.

Tétanisé, je ne vois plus que Karl et le docteur Dupré. Nos regards se croisent et dans ses yeux, je lis qu’il n’y a rien à faire. Les ambulanciers préviennent qu’ils se dirigent vers Sainte-Agathe-des- Monts, mais le Dr Dupré s’y oppose. Il leur intime de l’emmener d’urgence dans un hôpital de Montréal où Karl reviendra à la vie après avoir été déclaré cliniquement mort. Plus tard, c’est le Dr Dupré lui-même qui confectionnera le plâtre servant à la fabrication des orthèses.

Contre toute attente, Karl survit donc à ses blessures. Son bras droit et sa cage thoracique sont sévèrement brûlés et ses jambes doivent être amputées au-dessus du genou. Il subit de multiples interventions chirurgicales et de nombreuses greffes de peau. Ses amis de football et de ski se font tester pour un éventuel don de peau. Pour ma part, je ne suis pas compatible.

L’accident de Karl m’a fait réaliser que, bien que nous pensions l’être, nous n’étions pas invincibles. Par ailleurs, je me suis souvent demandé si nous aurions eu son courage et sa détermination pour surmonter de telles épreuves.

Je ne vous raconterai pas la longue réhabilitation de Karl qui fut une période très douloureuse. Le plus important est de souligner ce qu’il a réalisé après l’accident. L’athlète audacieux s’est senti investi d’une nouvelle mission.

Karl est déterminé à trouver de nouvelles façons de pratiquer les sports qu’il aime. Il conçoit lui-même ses prothèses et met au point des techniques qui lui permettent de poursuivre ses passions. Il devient un pionnier du sport chez les personnes handicapées. On le voit dévaler les pentes, jouer au golf avec bonne humeur et humour.

En 1976, il rejoint l’Association des Amputés de guerre à titre de conseiller sportif. Inspiré par leur devise : « C’est ce qui reste qui compte » et leur philosophie : « Les amputés s’entraident », il crée le programme « Les Vainqueurs ». Il transmet son amour du sport à tous les vainqueurs à travers le Canada lors de séminaires et aussi en donnant des cours de ski et de golf.

Son engagement et son inspiration sont immortalisés dans le film « Par-delà les pentes ». Tourné au mont Tremblant, ce court-métrage de 24 minutes met en lumière son influence favorable sur les jeunes handicapés qu’il initie au ski. En vedette dans les annonces de l’Association des Amputés de guerre, Karl restera pour plusieurs générations : « le skieur au costume argenté ».

Karl Hilzinger est décédé le 15 décembre 1988. Même s’il n’a jamais participé aux Jeux paralympiques, pour moi, son action inspirante auprès des personnes handicapées lui vaut bien une médaille d’or.

Bravo, champion, pour l’immense courage dont tu as fait preuve ! Tu nous as tous inspirés.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password