Rock climbing in the Laurentians

Noémie Denault et Éric Gadoua. © Guillaume Vincent

The small town of Chamonix, nestled at the foot of France’s Mont Blanc, is recognized as the world capital of mountain climbing. It all started in 1786 with the first climb of the highest peak in the Alps. Here in the Laurentians, Val-David could undoubtedly be given the title of the “Chamonix of Québec.”

It was here, in 1932, that retired Swiss engineer John Brett made Québec’s first successful climb of a face of Mont Condor, and that was the starting point of Québec’s own alpine adventure. Val- David became the training ground for several generations of climbers who then developed the activity in their own regions. And because our summits are never higher than 1000 metres, we prefer to talk about rock climbing.

A region full of fine rock faces

Our part of the world is easily accessible and known for the quality of its rock. The closeness to urban centres attracts many climbers as soon as the April sun dries the rock faces. In this area, no fewer than seven climbing sites are listed by the Québec federation of mountains and climbing (FQME).

Would you dare give it a try? Rock climbing can even be learned by an adult. Every climb is ranked from the easiest to the hardest, from 5.0 to 5.15. At the beginning, the climb is done “en moulinette” – with a slingshot top-rope setup in which the climber’s rope runs through a fixed anchor at the top of the climbing route and the partner collects the other end of the rope and blocks the rope if there’s a fall. The beginner is more or less seated in their harness.

In the chilly morning shade of the rock face, Isabelle Losier, director of the Attitude Montagne centre in Saint-Adolphe-de-Howard, welcomes beginners. After having explained and adjusted the equipment, harnesses, helmets and shoes, she shares her main tip: “Lift yourself by pushing with your legs rather than pulling with your arms.”

The essence of rock climbing is exploring the rock, sensing with your hands, feeling with your eyes to make sense of the route up you’ll take. Between you and the rock, it’s a physical, sensory and spiritual experience. And what joy when you complete your climb!

Couples climbing? Yes, it’s possible

Noémie Denault and Éric Gadoua, who have lived here for a long time, have also loved climbing for a long time. When they met, Noémie mentioned that she climbed mountains and Éric asked her, “hiking or climbing?” He was surprised (in a good way) to learn that she had her own harness, shoes and helmet.

It was the start of a lovely relationship which is ongoing. They don’t attack the climbs at the same level, but each of them finds the appropriate one. Using a slingshot top-rope setup, each chooses their level of difficulty. Roped together, Éric takes the lead, which allows Noémie to attempt harder climbs.

What happens as you climb? “The brain empties and one is fully present. Where is my next handhold? It’s a feeling of freedom. The fear of falling, arms or legs trembling, height paralysis…these are all feelings you learn to master,” they say together.

Everything happens as a couple. “In the long climbs, we combine performance and pleasure and we share our energy.” Éric finds Noémie gifted and brave and he’s proud of her: “I admire her,” he admits. As for Noémie, she respects her desire for thrills but most of all, she’s happy to be with a partner who shares her passion.

A shared treasure to protect

The FQME has made major investments to improve local sites: cleaning rock, leveling anchorages, relationships with owners, laying out campsites and building trails.

Are more people using this region? “Yes,” says Isabelle Losier. “Quebecers need to get outside and we see this in all outdoor activities. It’s why ethical behaviour has become so important: it’s more important than ever to respect the lakeside and riverside residents and the other users, remove your trash, park in designated spaces, follow the instructions and pay the access fees.

Climbing sites and climbing schools

Sites: Lac-Supérieur (Parc d’escalade Julien- Labedan); La Conception (Montagne d’argent); Sainte-Adèle (Mont Baldy); Val-David/Val- Morin (Centre de ski Belle Neige and regional park); Amherst (Paroi Kanata-Tremblant); Weir (Mont Larose); La Macaza (Paroi du lac Boisseau).

Schools: Mont-Tremblant Activities Centre; Liberté Nord-Sud; Passe-Montagne; Attitude Montagne.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau12 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Escalade dans les Laurentides

Noémie Denault et Éric Gadoua. © Guillaume Vincent

La petite ville de Chamonix, campée au pied du Mont Blanc, est reconnue capitale mondiale de l’alpinisme. Tout a débuté en 1786, avec la première ascension de ce plus haut sommet des Alpes. Chez-nous, Val-David pourrait sans conteste être gratifié du titre de « Chamonix du Québec ». C’est en 1932 que l’ingénieur suisse à la retraite, John Brett, y réalisa la première ascension québécoise sur une paroi du mont Condor.

Ce fut le point de départ de la belle aventure alpine au Québec. Val David devint le lieu de formation de plusieurs générations de grimpeurs qui développèrent ensuite l’activité dans leur région respective. Et comme nos sommets ne dépassent guère les 1 000 mètres, on préfère parler d’escalade.

Une région comblée de belles parois

Notre région est facilement accessible et réputée pour la qualité de son rocher. La proximité des centres urbains attire de nombreux adeptes de grimpe dès que le soleil d’avril sèche les parois. Dans les environs, pas moins de sept sites d’escalade sont répertoriés par la Fédération québécoise de la montagne et de l’escalade (FQME).

Oserez-vous tenter l’aventure ?

L’escalade peut être apprise même à l’âge adulte. Chaque voie est cotée du plus facile au plus difficile, de 5.0 à 5.15. Au début, l’ascension se pratique en moulinette : la corde du grimpeur passe dans un relai fixé au sommet de la voie et le partenaire récupère à mesure l’autre extrémité et bloque la corde en cas de chute. Le débutant reste plus ou moins assis dans son baudrier.

Dans le matin frisquet à l’ombre de la paroi, Isabelle Losier, directrice du centre Attitude Montagne à Saint-Adolphe-d’Howard accueille des débutants. Après avoir présenté et ajusté l’équipement, baudrier, casques et chaussons, elle partage son principal conseil : « S’élever en poussant sur les jambes plutôt qu’en tirant avec les bras ».

L’essence de l’escalade, c’est d’explorer le rocher, flairer avec les mains, palper des yeux pour déchiffrer le passage. Entre soi et la roche, c’est une expérience à la fois physique, sensuelle et spirituelle. Quel plaisir de compléter une voie !

La grimpe en couple ? oui, c’est possible !

Établis depuis longtemps dans la région, Noémie Denault et Éric Gadoua sont passionnés de grimpe de longue date. Lorsqu’ils se sont connus, Noémie a mentionné qu’elle gravissait des montagnes et Éric lui a demandé : « En randonnée ou en escalade ? » Il fut positivement surpris d’apprendre qu’elle possédait un baudrier, des chaussons et un casque… Début d’une belle complicité qui perdure.

Ils ne s’attaquent pas aux mêmes niveaux, mais chacun y trouve son compte. En moulinette, chacun choisit sa difficulté. En cordée, Éric grimpe en tête, cela permet à Noémie d’accéder à des voies plus difficiles. Que se passe-t-il en montée ? « Le cerveau se vide et on est dans le moment présent. Où est ma prochaine prise ? C’est un sentiment de liberté. La peur de tomber, les bras ou les jambes qui tremblent, la paralysie de la hauteur sont des sensations que l’on apprend à maîtriser », affirment-ils mutuellement.

Tout se déroule en couple. « Dans les longues voies, nous conjuguons performance et plaisir et nous partageons notre énergie. » Éric trouve que Noémie est douée et courageuse et il en est fier : « je l’admire ! », confie-t-il. Quant à Noémie, elle respecte son désir de sensations fortes, mais elle est surtout heureuse d’être en symbiose avec un partenaire qui partage sa passion.

Une richesse collective à protéger

La FQME a réalisé de gros investissements pour améliorer les sites de la région. Nettoyage du rocher, mise à niveau des encrages, relations avec les propriétaires, aménagements.

Y a-t-il une hausse de la fréquentation dans la région ? « Oui, confirme Isabelle Losier, les Québécois ont besoin de sortir et on voit ce phénomène dans toutes les activités de plein air. C’est pourquoi le comportement éthique devient plus important : il faut plus que jamais respecter les riverains et les autres usagers, rapporter ses déchets, stationner aux endroits désignés, suivre les consignes et acquitter les droits d’accès. »

Sites et écoles d’escalade

Sites : Lac-Supérieur (Parc d’escalade Julien- Labedan); La Conception (Montagne d’argent) ; Sainte-Adèle (Mont Baldy) ; Val-David/Val-Morin (Centre de ski Belle Neige et parc régional) ; Amherst (Paroi Kanata-Tremblant) ; Weir (Mont Larose) ; La Macaza (Paroi du lac Boisseau).

Écoles : Centre d’activités Mont-Tremblant ; Liberté Nord-Sud ; Passe-Montagne ; Attitude Montagne.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Daniel Gauvreau

 

Daniel Gauvreau12 Posts

Récréologue et journaliste de formation, tour à tour organisateur, formateur, consultant, chroniqueur et traducteur dans le milieu du plein air, Daniel Gauvreau est passionné d’activité physique en extérieur. De retour d’un périple au Québec et en France, il a choisi les Hautes-Laurentides pour satisfaire son amour de la nature. Semi-retraité, moniteur de ski de fond à SFMT, son expérience profite désormais aux lecteurs de Tremblant Express. Recreation professional and journalist by education, organizer, trainer, consultant, columnist and translator about the outdoors by experience, Daniel Gavreau is passionate about physical activity outside. Following a trip through Québec and France, he chose the Hautes-Laurentides as the place to satisfy his love of nature. Semi-retired and teaching cross-country skiing with SFMT, he now offers his experience to Tremblant Express readers.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password