Ernie McCulloch, the “King of the mountain”

Born in 1925 in the Mauricie to an Indigenous Anglophone mother and a unilingual Anglophone father, Ernie McCulloch started off as a ski jumper. Seeking thrills, he found himself in Sun Valley, Idaho, where he focused his talent and efforts on alpine skiing.

He was perfectly bilingual, a fierce and tremendous competitor, and quite possibly the best Canadian skier of his time. They nicknamed him “King of the mountain”.

Twice winner of the Harriman Cup in Sun Valley, he had an impressive list of honours, including the title of “Skier of the half-century”. This reputation attracted Tremblant owner Mary Ryan to Sun Valley. She went there to convince him to return to Québec to take over running the Mont Tremblant ski school.

Mary Ryan recognized the importance, from a marketing standpoint, of a good ski school director. Ernie’s personality, charisma and international reputation contributed greatly to the success of this growing sport, and would be one of the undeniable assets to attract a largely American clientele.

He arrives in Tremblant

From the moment of his arrival in 1950, the charm worked. The instructors were motivated and the customers were impressed. From my own perspective, Ernie changed my life. He met his wife – Janet Moffat, a pretty American blonde from California – at Mont-Tremblant.

The young couple became friends with my parents and fitted in perfectly with the local crowd and lifestyle. Ernie joined the local guys for hunting and fishing. As a child, I had the privilege of joining this group of men (Arthur Robert, Noël Chauvin, Ernie and my dad), and it was with them that I bagged my first deer at only age seven.

A great mentor

As Ernie was always on skis and I dreamed only of skiing, my dad asked him if I could accompany him on the slopes. Ernie agreed, and from that moment on I became his shadow.

Along with the employees, I was first onto the North Side chairlift at 7:30 a.m., and I waited on the balcony of his chalet for Ernie to come out and begin his day. That’s how our extraordinary friendship got started. He became my mentor, not only in skiing technique, but also in developing the mindset of a competitor.

He had skied the runs that I longed to ski and had confronted the greatest racers of his era. He understood the work and the dedication required to reach that level. Ernie made me understand that a racer’s career was not just about skiing.

So when I was 10 years old, he started me on a rigorous training program. From 5 a.m., I had to run up the north side of the mountain to the top, to the chalet “Le rendez-vous”. My mother had breakfast ready for me when I got back and then drove me to the school on Lac Mercier.

Ernie had convinced my father to install a Poma lift and lights on the lower part of the Duncan run so that I could train at night in slalom and giant slalom. Three nights a week, after his work, Ernie drove around the mountain and set up 20- to 25-gate courses.

When the weekend competitions rolled around I had already skied 1,500 training gates.

“You can win with talent, but when you combine work with talent, you become unbeatable,” Ernie told me. When races were held elsewhere than at Tremblant, Ernie joined me very early in the morning to wax my skis and whisper a few words of encouragement before leaving to work at the ski school.

Ernie taught me a discipline that allowed me to make the Canadian national ski team. He built my technique; he knew my soul, my weaknesses and my strengths. At a glance, he could detect a new bad habit.

Leaving to come back better

In 1969, Ernie and Janet were offered a golden opportunity at Collingwood Blue Mountain. Ernie became the owner of the ski shop and the ski school, of which he became the director. That’s the point at which Janet became the driving force of the Ernie-Janet pair. Her business sense and her involvement in this new business would ensure their financial security.

Ernie’s presence in Collingwood had the same beneficial effect it had at Tremblant. The volume of skiers increased and he encouraged the ski clubs to develop young talent such as Steve Podborski, Ken Read and Todd Brooker. They, in turn, made their mark on Canadian skiing.

When they retired, Ernie and Janet returned to live in Mont-Tremblant where they got back together with their old friends. Ernie hunted, fished and played golf. The King had come home. He was felled by cancer in 1987, but my memories and his legend live on.

 

By the same author: Local guardian angel: Charles-Hector Deslauriers (Click the image below)

 

Peter Duncan68 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Ernie McCulloch, le « King de la montagne »

Né en 1925 en Mauricie, d’une mère autochtone anglophone et d’un père unilingue anglais, Ernie McCulloch fait ses débuts comme sauteur à ski. À la recherche de sensations fortes, il se retrouve à Sun Valley en Idaho, où il concentre son talent et ses efforts en ski alpin.

Parfaitement bilingue, compétiteur féroce et prodigieux, il fut possiblement le meilleur skieur canadien de son temps. On le surnommera « le King de la montagne ».

Double gagnant de la Harriman Cup à Sun Valley, il jouit d’un palmarès impressionnant, y compris du titre de « Skieur du demi-siècle ». Cette réputation attirera à Sun Valley Mary Ryan, propriétaire de Tremblant. Elle s’y rend afin de le convaincre de revenir au Québec pour y prendre les rênes de l’école de ski du mont Tremblant.

Mary Ryan connaissait l’importance que représentait, d’un point de vue marketing, un bon directeur d’école de ski. La personnalité, le charisme et la réputation internationale d’Ernie ne feraient que contribuer au succès de ce sport en plein essor, et seraient des atouts indéniables pour attirer une clientèle principalement américaine.

L’arrivée à Tremblant

Dès son arrivée en 1950, le charme opère. Les moniteurs sont motivés et les clients sont impressionnés. Quant à moi, Ernie changera ma vie. Il rencontre sa femme à Mont-Tremblant. Il s’agit de Janet Moffat, une jolie blonde américaine de Californie.

Le jeune couple se lie d’amitié avec mes parents et s’intègre parfaitement à la vie du coin. Ernie se joint aux locaux pour la chasse et la pêche. Enfant, j’ai le privilège de me joindre à ce groupe d’hommes (Arthur Robert, Noël Chauvin, Ernie et mon père), et c’est en leur compagnie que je tue mon premier chevreuil, à l’âge de sept ans seulement.

Un grand mentor

Comme Ernie est toujours sur ses skis et que je ne rêve que de ski, mon père lui demande si je peux l’accompagner sur les pistes. Ernie accepte et à partir de ce moment-là, je deviens son ombre.

Avec les employés, je suis le premier sur le télésiège du versant nord, à 7 h 30 le matin, et j’attends sur le balcon de son chalet qu’Ernie sorte pour commencer la journée.

C’est ainsi que débute notre extraordinaire relation d’amitié. Il devient mon mentor, non seulement en technique de ski, mais aussi sur l’état d’esprit d’un compétiteur.

Il avait dévalé les pistes que je convoitais et il avait affronté les plus grands coureurs de son temps. Il connaissait le travail et l’engagement nécessaires pour se rendre à ce niveau. Ernie me fait comprendre que le succès d’une carrière de coureur ne se limite pas à faire du ski.

Ainsi, à l’âge de dix ans, il m’établit un entrainement rigoureux. Dès 5 h, je devais gravir la montagne en courant à partir du versant nord jusqu’au sommet, au chalet “Le rendez-vous”. Ma mère m’attendait avec mon petit déjeuner à mon retour puis me conduisait à l’école du lac Mercier.

Ernie avait convaincu mon père d’installer un Poma et des lumières dans le bas de la piste Duncan pour que je puisse m’entrainer le soir à faire du slalom et du slalom géant. Trois soirs par semaine, après son travail, Ernie faisait le tour de la montagne en voiture et traçait pour moi des parcours de 20 à 25 portes. Lorsque les compétitions de fin de semaine arrivèrent, j’avais déjà passé 1 500 portes d’entrainement.

« On peut gagner avec le talent, mais si le travail est combiné au talent, on devient imbattable », me disait Ernie. Lorsque les compétitions se tenaient ailleurs qu’à Tremblant, Ernie me rejoignait très tôt pour farter mes skis et me glisser quelques mots d’encouragement avant de me quitter pour aller travailler à l’école de ski.

Ernie m’imposa une discipline qui me permit de me rendre à l’équipe nationale canadienne. Il avait construit ma technique, il connaissait mon âme, mes faiblesses et mes forces. D’un coup d’œil, il pouvait déceler une nouvelle mauvaise habitude.

Partir pour mieux revenir

En 1969, Ernie et Janet se voient offrir une opportunité en or à Collingwood, Blue Mountain. Ernie devient alors propriétaire de la boutique et de l’école de ski dont il assure la direction. C’est à ce moment-là que Janet devint la force motrice du duo Ernie-Janet. Son sens des affaires et son implication dans cette nouvelle entreprise assureront leur sécurité financière.

La présence d’Ernie à Collingwood aura le même effet bénéfique qu’à Tremblant. Le volume de skieurs augmente et il encourage les clubs de ski à développer de jeunes talents (Steve Podborski, Ken Read, Todd Brooker) qui, à leur tour, marqueront le ski canadien.

Au moment de la retraite, Ernie et Janet revinrent s’établir à Tremblant où ils retrouvèrent leurs vieux amis. Ernie chassait, pêchait et jouait au golf. Le King était revenu chez lui. En 1987, un cancer l’emportera, mais mes souvenirs et sa légende lui survivent.

 

Du même auteur : Les oubliés: Charles-Hector Deslauriers (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Peter Duncan72 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password