Those elegant weasels

In North America there are three species of weasel: the long-tailed weasel, the ermine, and the least weasel. In spite of their similar appearance and way of life, they can be distinguished by their respective sizes and by some specific characteristics.

All three have a slender, elongated body, a long neck and big round ears. Their pelt, which is brown in summer, becomes progressively whiter as winter approaches; it’s a practical, useful camouflage. Weasels tend to be found in marshy terrain, brush, and fields. They slide easily into the burrows of small mammals, voles, mice, shrews, and red squirrels, which make up the large part of their diet.

They complete their menu with birds, amphibians, snakes or arthropods. By controlling the population of small rodents, weasels reduce damage to market gardens and slow the progress of Lyme disease, of which the deer mouse is a significant vector.

They are less helpful, however, when they creep into chicken runs and attack the hens. These predators, with their rapid movements, kill their prey quickly and efficiently by biting at the base of their skull. If hunting is good, weasels can store several of their victims in an underground cache with a view to a future meal.

How do you recognize them? The long-tailed weasel, the largest of the three, can be as long as 46 cm and its tail represents 40 per cent of its total length. The ermine is rarely longer than 33 cm and its tail is relatively short. And weighing in at less than 50 g and measuring less than 20 cm, the least weasel is America’s smallest carnivore.

In addition to its small size, it is differentiated from the other weasels by the fact that the tip of its tail is not black. Weasels move in bounds and make tunnels in the deep snow. Their dark-coloured droppings often contain hairs and small bones and have a typical coiled shape. Keep your eyes open, and these elegant creatures will charm you.

All three species of weasel found in Québec can be seen at Animalium, Mont-Tremblant’s zoological museum.

 

By the same author: The snowbound snowshoe hare (Click the image below)

 

Jacques Prescott83 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Élégantes belettes

On trouve en Amérique du Nord, trois espèces de belettes : la belette à longue queue, l’hermine et la belette pygmée. En dépit de leur apparence et de leur mode de vie semblables, elles se distinguent l’une de l’autre par leur taille respective et certaines caractéristiques spécifiques.

Toutes les trois ont un corps mince et longiligne, un cou allongé et de grandes oreilles rondes. Leur pelage brun en été devient progressivement blanc à l’approche de l’hiver ; un camouflage bien pratique. Les belettes fréquentent les zones marécageuses, les broussailles et les champs.

Elles se glissent aisément dans le terrier des petits mammifères, campagnols, souris, musaraignes et tamias qui composent l’essentiel de leur régime alimentaire. Elles complètent leur menu avec des oiseaux, des amphibiens, des couleuvres ou des arthropodes.

En contrôlant les populations de petits rongeurs, les belettes réduisent les dégâts aux cultures maraichères et freinent la progression de la maladie de Lyme dont la souris sylvestre est un important vecteur. Mais elles s’attirent des ennuis lorsqu’elles s’introduisent dans les basses-cours et s’attaquent aux volailles.

Ces prédateurs aux gestes vifs et rapides tuent prestement leurs proies en les mordant à la base du crâne. Si la chasse est bonne, les belettes peuvent entreposer plusieurs de leurs victimes dans une cache souterraine en vue d’un prochain repas.

Comment les reconnaître ? La belette à longue queue, la plus grande des trois, mesure jusqu’à 46 cm et sa queue représente 40 pour cent de sa longueur totale. L’hermine dépasse rarement 33 cm et sa queue est relativement plus courte. Pesant moins de 50 g, et mesurant moins de 20 cm, la belette pygmée est quant à elle le plus petit carnivore d’Amérique.

Outre sa taille minuscule, elle se différencie des autres belettes du fait que l’extrémité de sa queue n’est pas noire. Les belettes se déplacent par bonds et font des tunnels dans la neige épaisse. Leurs excréments foncés contiennent souvent des poils et des petits os et ont une forme torsadée typique. Ouvrez l’œil, les élégantes sauront vous charmer.

Les trois belettes du Québec sont en vedette à l’Animalium, musée zoologique à Mont-Tremblant.

 

Du même auteur : Le lièvre d’Amérique et la neige (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Jacques Prescott81 Posts

Jacques Prescott est biologiste, professeur associé à la Chaire en éco-conseil de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi et co-fondateur de l’Animalium, le musée zoologique de Mont-Tremblant. Spécialiste de la biodiversité et du développement durable, il est l’auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur la faune et la conservation de la nature. Il nous fait l’honneur de rejoindre notre équipe de collaborateurs et signera chaque mois une chronique intitulée Faune et flore. / Jacques Prescott is a biologist, associate professor with the Chair in Eco-Counselling of the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, and co-founder of Animalium, the zoological museum of Mont-Tremblant. A specialist in biodiversity and sustainable development, he is the author of numerous books and articles about wildlife and nature conservation. He has honoured us by joining our team of contributors and will write a monthly column entitled Wildlife and Habitat.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password