Eddy Eustace, authentic to the core

Eddy Eustace skiing. ©Courtoisie

The Eustace family, of Scottish descent, had lived in Montreal for generations when Eddy was born on December 21, 1933. His father Scott and mother Marie Marguerite Keel – from Antigonish, Nova Scotia – met when she was at the Montreal General Hospital, completing her training to be a nurse.

Eddy was the only boy among the family’s four children. Surrounded by three sisters – Pat, Jene and Lionna – Eddy soon found that sports were assuming a central role in his life. Like many young Quebec boys, Eddy found that a love of hockey was part of his very being and he turned out to be good at the sport.

He made it into the pro circuit and played for the Royals – the Montreal Canadiens farm team. He was there with Scotty Bowman, Eddie Johnson and several others who became members of the National Hockey League. But Eddy was realistic: he understood that if you hoped to have a career in the NHL, you needed to be pretty impressive: Henri Richard and Marcel Dionne were exceptions.

Eddy, a charming, up-and-coming young man

The Summerlie golf club, originally located in Montreal, moved to Vaudreuil-Dorion. Friends who were golfers and members of the club suggested that he apply for a job at the golf shop. His happy mood and easy smile made him a popular employee. It’s there that he discovered the joys of the sport. A natural athlete, he learned fast.

When the summer ended, Eddy had to find a new job. He learned that the Gray Rocks ski shop was looking for a reliable, handy employee. Eddy applied for the job and was hired. The store manager was Willy Legaré and the two men became instant friends; it was as if they’d known each other forever. And that’s how Eddy discovered a new sport: skiing.

He returned to Summerlie for several summers and it was there that he got his golf pro card and began his career teaching golf. After Summerlie, he became an assistant pro at the Hunt Club in Ottawa and Beaconsfield. But come winter, he would return to Gray Rocks.

The ski school was at that time led with a master’s hand by Réal Charrette. Eddy, now a passionate skier, had the benefit of advice from top-level, accredited instructors. At noon, he would join his instructor friends on the mountain and as a result, quickly went from being a novice to being a level 4 instructor, accredited by the CSIA (Canadian Ski Instructors Alliance).

Eddy Eustace, Tremblant, 1964. ©Courtoisie

But it was at Mont Tremblant in 1958, at the age of 25, that he began his career as a ski instructor under Ernie McCulloch. Eddie was now a true-blue Mont-Tremblant citizen. In the 1960s he built a house beside Lac Ouimet.

In the summers, he was now a golf pro on the Gray Rocks golf course and he remained in that position for 40 years. He participated in golf tournaments and came in – among other successes – second in the Quebec Open at Laval sur le Lac in the ‘60s.

When Réal Charrette (member of the Laurentians Ski Hall of Fame) retired, it was Eddy who took over the lead, becoming the director of the famous Snow Eagle Ski School of Gray Rocks.

During all this time, he had two children: Anne-Marie and Catherine. He was once again surrounded by girls. And everyone loved Eddy. His openness and kindness, to employees as much as to customers, were legendary.

Always ready to help, he wasn’t stingy with his tips if they could improve our game. I remember a golf game at Gray Rocks where I was trying to hit the ball while on the side of a hill. Let’s just say it wasn’t going well. Eddy approached me, pulling his golf bag, and said gently, “Maybe if you positioned yourself like this and placed your arms like this….” It’s a golf lesson he provided with a smile and advice that I still apply.

Eddy had a habit of saying: “The National Hockey League, the Olympic Games, the professional golf tour – they’re not for everyone. So why not practise all these sports, just for the enjoyment?”

Whether on a golf course or a ski run, Eddy understood people, no matter who they were, where they came from or what level of aptitude they had. He was humble and non-judgmental and his smile was real and everyone could feel it.

Eddy passed away on September 4, 2019. He remains fixed in my memory, this authentic, unprejudiced man. While I admire the talented athlete he was, it is his qualities as a human being that I miss the most.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan93 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Eddy Eustace, un homme authentique

Eddy Eustace. ©Courtoisie

De descendance écossaise, la famille Eustace est établie à Montréal depuis quelques générations quand Eddy nait le 21 décembre 1933. Son père Scott et sa mère Marie Marguerite Keel, native d’Antigonish dans les maritimes, font connaissance alors que cette dernière complète des études d’infirmière à l’hôpital Général de Montréal.

Eddy est le seul garçon d’une fratrie de quatre enfants. Entouré de ses trois sœurs Pat, Jene et Lionna, le sport prend rapidement une place importante dans sa vie. Comme bien des Québécois, l’amour du hockey coule dans ses veines et il se révèle talentueux.

Il accède au circuit professionnel et joue pour les Royals — le club-école du Canadien de Montréal. Il se retrouve avec des Scotty Bowman, Eddie Johnson et plusieurs autres qui feront tous partie de la Ligue nationale de hockey. Mais Eddy est réaliste ; il comprend que pour espérer faire carrière dans la ligue nationale, il faut un gabarit imposant — Henri Richard et Marcel Dionne seront des exceptions.

Eddy, un jeune homme charmant et très avenant

Le club de golf Summerlie, situé à l’origine à Montréal, s’installe à Vaudreuil-Dorion. Des amis golfeurs, membres du club, lui suggèrent de se proposer à la boutique de golf. Sa bonne humeur et son sourire facile en font un employé apprécié. C’est à cet endroit qu’il découvre les joies de ce sport. Athlète inné, il apprend rapidement.

Quand la saison estivale se termine, Eddy doit se trouver un nouveau boulot. Il apprend que la boutique de ski de Gray Rocks est à la recherche d’un employé fiable et débrouillard. Eddy se présente et obtient l’emploi. Le responsable de la boutique est Willy Legaré. Les deux hommes s’accordent instantanément — c’est comme s’ils se connaissaient depuis toujours. Et c’est ainsi qu’Eddy découvre un nouveau sport : le ski.

Pendant quelques étés, il revient à Summerlie où il obtient sa carte de pro de golf et qu’il commence sa carrière d’enseignant de golf. Après Summerlie, il deviendra assistant professionnel au club Hunt d’Ottawa et à Beaconsfield. Mais lorsqu’arrive l’hiver, il revient à Gray Rocks.

L’école de ski à cette époque est menée de main de maître par Réal Charrette. Eddy, maintenant mordu de ski, bénéficie des conseils de moniteurs diplômés et seniors. Sur l’heure du midi, il retrouve ses amis moniteurs sur la montagne et rapidement, il passe de simple novice à niveau 4 senior de l’AMSC (Alliance des moniteurs de ski du Canada).

Eddy Eustace, Tremblant, 1964. ©Courtoisie

Mais c’est au mont Tremblant en 1958, à l’âge de 25 ans, qu’il débute sa carrière comme moniteur de ski sous Ernie McCulloch. Eddy est maintenant un Tremblantois. Dans les années soixante, il construit une maison aux abords du lac Ouimet.

L’été, il est maintenant un professionnel de golf au terrain de golf Gray Rocks et il occupera ce poste durant 40 ans. Il participera à des tournois et terminera, entre autres, 2e au Québec Open à Laval sur le Lac dans les années 60.

Lorsque Réal Charette (membre du Temple de la renommée du ski des Laurentides) prendra sa retraite, c’est Eddy qui assurera la relève comme directeur de la célèbre école de ski Snow Eagle Ski School de Gray Rocks.

Pendant tout ce temps, il aura deux enfants ; Anne-Marie et Catherine. Il est à nouveau entouré de filles. Eddy était adoré de tous, sa franche attitude et sa gentillesse pour les employés comme pour les clients étaient légendaires.

Toujours prêt à aider, il n’était pas avare de ses conseils si cela pouvait améliorer notre jeu. Je me souviens d’une partie de golf à Gray Rocks où je tentais de frapper la balle alors que j’étais sur le flanc d’une côte — disons que ça n’allait pas bien. Eddy s’approcha en traînant son sac et me dit doucement : « peut-être que si tu te positionnais ainsi et plaçais tes bras comme ça… » C’est une leçon de golf qu’il m’a donnée avec le sourire et un conseil que j’applique encore.

Eddy avait pour habitude de dire : « la Ligue nationale de hockey, les Jeux olympiques, le tour professionnel de golf, ce n’est pas pour tout le monde. Alors, pourquoi ne pas pratiquer tous ces sports, juste pour le plaisir ? »

Que ce soit sur un parcours de golf ou sur une piste de ski, Eddy comprenait les gens — peu importe leur provenance ou leur niveau d’aptitude. Il était humble et sans jugement et quand il souriait c’était sincère et chacun le ressentait.

Eddy nous a quittés le 4 septembre 2019. Je garde en mémoire cet homme authentique libre de préjugés. Bien qu’admirateur de l’athlète talentueux qu’il était, ce sont ses qualités d’homme qui me manquent le plus.

 

Plus de cet auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Peter Duncan

 

Peter Duncan83 Posts

Membre de l’équipe canadienne de ski alpin de 1960 à 1971, skieur professionnel de 1971 à 1979 et champion américain en 1965, Peter Duncan a participé aux Jeux olympiques de 1964 à Innsbruck ainsi qu’à ceux de 1968 à Grenoble. Intronisé au Temple de la renommée du ski au Canada, au Panthéon des sports du Québec et récipiendaire de la médaille du gouverneur général, Peter a longtemps été commentateur de ski à la télévision./ Peter Duncan is a Canadian former alpine skier who competed in the 1964 and the 1968 Winter Olympics. He was named to the Canadian National Alpine Team in 1960 at the age of 16 and competed at the national level for the next 10-years until 1970 before retiring.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password