Trail running tips and technique

Marion. ©Daniel K. Cooper

Highway driving is different from off-roading. The same holds true for running on a paved surface and trail running.

Working a wide range of muscles

The terrain is irregular and softer out on the trails. This is both an advantage and a disadvantage. Your stride will need to vary with almost every step. Trail running requires a lot more work for the ankles and quads, especially if you choose to run on some of our more hilly trails. However, the softer terrain is much more forgiving on our joints than the hard pavement.

Regular running shoes are not ideal for trail running. Road shoes are designed to absorb. On the trail you need something more stable and with a more aggressive sole to avoid slipping on wet terrain. You need to make a few adjustments in your technique to maximize your experience.

Uphill technique

Pump your arms like a sprinter to give yourself momentum. Favour shorter fast strides. Lift up your feet to avoid tripping. Run when you can, change to a power walk when it becomes too steep. Don’t burn all your energy at the start of a hill: pace and keep some energy, and listen to your heart rate.

Downhill technique

Shorten your stride to better react and manoeuvre around rocks and roots. Hold your arms to your side to help maintain balance. Land on the front of your foot. Stay focused. Do not let your mind wander. Keep your eyes on where your foot is going to land next.

Adjust your expectations

Modify the time allowed for your run. Forget your pace and speed. You will not be able to cover a 5K on the trail in the same amount of time you can on the road. You can’t zone out, but you can get in the zone.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy82 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

Training with technology

The pliable athlete

The law of motion

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Course en sentier : Conseils et technique

Marion. ©Daniel K. Cooper

La conduite sur autoroute est bien différente de la conduite tout terrain. Il en est de même pour la course sur surface pavée ou en sentier.

Faire travailler un grand nombre de muscles

En sentier, le terrain est irrégulier et plus mou. C’est à la fois un avantage et un inconvénient. Votre foulée doit varier pratiquement à chaque pas. Vos chevilles et quadriceps seront beaucoup sollicités, surtout si vous choisissez de courir sur certains de nos parcours plus vallonnés. Toutefois, courir sur un terrain plus mou est beaucoup moins dur pour les articulations.

Les chaussures de course ordinaires ne sont pas idéales pour la course en sentier. Les chaussures de course sur route sont conçues pour absorber. En sentier, il faut quelque chose de plus stable, muni d’une semelle robuste (à crampons) pour éviter de glisser sur un sol humide. Pour maximiser votre expérience, vous devez ajuster votre technique.

Technique en montée

Comme un sprinter, utilisez le mouvement de balancier de vos bras pour vous propulser. Vos foulées doivent être plus courtes et plus rapides. Levez les pieds pour éviter de trébucher. Courez quand c’est possible, et optez pour une marche rapide lorsque la pente devient trop abrupte. Ne dépensez pas toute votre énergie en début de montée : adoptez un bon tempo, et surveillez votre rythme cardiaque.

Technique dans les descentes

Raccourcissez vos foulées pour mieux réagir et contourner les roches et les racines. Gardez les bras sur les côtés pour maintenir votre équilibre. Atterrissez sur l’avant-pied. Restez concentré. Ne laissez pas votre esprit vagabonder. Fixez des yeux l’endroit où vous poserez le pied.

Revoir ses attentes

Changez le temps alloué à votre course. Oubliez votre rythme et votre vitesse. Vous mettrez plus de temps à parcourir cinq kilomètres en sentier que vous ne le faites sur route. Surtout, restez concentré !

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy76 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password