The mind-body connection

© Courtoisie

A proper warm-up is critical to an effective training session or activity. Before you run, bike, hike, swim, golf, play tennis, or work out at the gym: warm up. While its value is science-backed and almost universally accepted, it remains the most neglected part of training and sports.

Prime your body

A good warm-up will raise your body temperature and prime the central nervous system for exercise. At rest, the body’s core is relatively cool and the blood vessels are narrow. A good warm-up will dilate those vessels, allowing for more blood flow to the muscles, superior oxygen delivery, enhanced metabolic efficiency, and central nervous system activation.

Your central nervous system, which consists of your brain and spinal cord, controls your motor function and nerve activity. Warming up allows your brain and spinal cord to build the connections with your nerves, organs and muscles.

Reduce risk of injury

Warming up also improves muscle elasticity. This converts to less chance of injuring yourself during your training session or activity. Plan on at least 10 minutes. Start with slow movements to increase mobility. Avoid static stretching (holding a stretch for a long time) and include active stretching to loosen the muscles.

Activate the muscles you plan to use in your activity. To promote better movement patterns, the final stage of the warm-up should include movements which mimic the activity to be performed.

Prep for success

It’s difficult to overestimate the importance of a proper warm-up. Athletes who are diligent with their warm-up routine will execute their activities with greater precision, comfort and effectiveness and less likelihood of injury than those who rush into an activity cold. In competitive sports, a warm-up is absolutely essential for maximizing performance.

Pros do not begin any activity without a good warm-up. Neither should you.

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy82 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Connexion entre le cerveau et le corps

© Courtoisie

Un bon échauffement avant une séance d’entraînement ou une activité sportive est indispensable. Avant de courir, de faire du vélo ou de la randonnée, de nager, de faire une partie de golf ou de tennis ou de vous entraîner au gym, faites des exercices d’échauffement.

Bien que cela soit appuyé par la science et soit, en général, bien ancré dans les mœurs, trop de gens négligent encore de le faire.

Préparer son corps

Un bon échauffement élève la température du corps, ce qui stimule le système nerveux et le prépare à l’exercice. Au repos, la température corporelle centrale est moindre, et les vaisseaux sanguins sont étroits. Un bon échauffement engendre une dilatation des vaisseaux, augmentant le flux sanguin vers les muscles, l’apport en oxygène, l’efficacité du métabolisme énergétique et le degré d’activation du système nerveux central.

Le système nerveux, qui comprend le cerveau et la moelle épinière, contrôle la fonction motrice et l’activité nerveuse. L’échauffement permet au cerveau et à la moelle épinière d’établir des connexions avec les nerfs, les organes et les muscles.

Réduire les risques de blessures

L’échauffement améliore également l’élasticité musculaire, ce qui diminue les risques de blessures. Prévoyez au moins 10 minutes. Commencez par des mouvements lents pour augmenter la mobilité articulaire. Évitez les étirements statiques (maintenir un étirement trop longtemps) et faites des étirements actifs pour détendre les muscles.

Faites travailler les muscles qui seront sollicités pendant votre activité. La dernière étape de l’échauffement devrait inclure des mouvements similaires à ceux qui seront effectués pendant l’activité.

Maximiser ses performances

On ne peut trop souligner l’importance d’un bon échauffement. Les athlètes qui font des exercices d’échauffement assidûment s’exécuteront avec plus de précision, d’aisance et d’efficacité et subiront moins de blessures que ceux qui n’en font pas. Dans les sports de compétition, un échauffement est absolument essentiel pour maximiser ses performances.

Les pros s’échauffent toujours avant de commencer leur activité, et il devrait en être de même pour vous.

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy82 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password