Choosing an environment that suits your abilities

With all the golf courses – and the starting tees – available today, it’s easy to choose one that works with your strengths. Remember that the environment selected will be the first step towards the relaxation and ease that’s as essential to your well-being as it is to the development of your competence.

Have you already tried playing a too-short course of the kind where it’s a 5 wood and pitching wedge to achieve a par-4 hole in two strokes? This summer, I invite you to try junior, senior and women’s tees. You’ll force less and your technique will improve.

Have you noticed the tension in the face of a golfer trying to reach a green in two strokes by using a 4 iron for 215 yards whereas he/ she usually hits his 1 wood 220 yards?

Choose targets that you can reach easily. Aim for zones as a function of the club you’re holding. Rather than taking a sand wedge and aiming at a dandelion 125 yards away, line up with a pitching wedge to reach a zone 30 metres in circumference 100 yards from you.

Because short irons are precision clubs, you should never drive using more than 65 per cent of your strength and range. In addition to reaching your target zones more often, your swing will be more stable, coordinated and harmonious. It will become more consistent and you will feel less excessive tension in your hands, arms, neck, shoulders and…face.

Practising with short irons increases awareness of the body and the club in movement and improves the rhythm, speed, amplitude and consistency of the swing.

Have fun, and…good golfing!

 

By the same author: One step follows another (Click the image below)

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Choisir un environnement en fonction de ses compétences

Avec tous les choix de parcours – et de tertres de départ – disponibles aujourd’hui, il est facile d’en choisir un en rapport avec vos aptitudes. Rappelez-vous que l’environnement choisi sera le premier pas vers une détente et une aisance essentielle tant à votre bien-être qu’au développement de vos compétences.

Avez-vous déjà essayé de jouer un parcours trop court du genre coup de bois 5 et pitching wedge pour réussir la normale 4 en deux ? Cet été, je vous invite à essayer des jalons juniors, séniors ou femmes. Vous forcerez moins et votre technique s’en trouvera améliorée.

Avez-vous déjà remarqué la tension dans le visage d’un golfeur tentant d’atteindre un vert en deux coups en frappant un fer 4 à 215 verges alors qu’il frappe normalement son bois-1 à 220 verges ?

Choisissez des cibles que vous pouvez atteindre aisément. Visez des zones en fonction du bâton que vous tenez dans vos mains. Plutôt que de prendre un cocheur de sable (SW) et viser un pissenlit se trouvant à 125 verges de vous, alignez-vous avec un cocheur d’allée (PW) pour atteindre une zone de 30 mètres de circonférence à 100 verges de vous.

Puisque les fers courts sont des bâtons de précision, vous ne devriez jamais vous élancer à plus de 65% de votre force et de votre amplitude. Frapper plus de fers courts avec élan restreint rehaussera le niveau de vos compétences. En plus d’atteindre plus souvent vos zones ciblées, votre élan sera plus stable, coordonné et harmonieux.

Il deviendra plus constant et vous ressentirez moins de tensions excessives dans les mains, les bras, la nuque, les épaules, et… le visage. Pratiquer avec des fers courts rehausse la conscience du corps et du bâton en mouvement et améliore rythme, tempo, amplitude et constance d’élan.

Ayez du plaisir et bon golf !

 

Du même auteur : À tour de rôle (Cliquez sur l’image)

 

Pierre Brisebois42 Posts

Enseignant professionnel, top 25 enseignant au Canada selon National Post et Meilleur enseignant régionale en Amérique selon Golf Magazine / Professional teacher, National Post - Top 25 Teachers in Canada, Golf Magazine - Top Regional Teachers in America

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password