Chefs à la rescousse: More than just emergency help

©iStock

The organization called Chefs à la rescousse (chefs to the rescue), founded jointly by local restaurateurs and businesspeople during the first wave of Covid, continues its mission in 2021. Since the project began in April 2020, more than 20,000 prepared meals have been delivered to those in need thanks to a wave of support, and more than $235,000 in donations and grants have been distributed.

The long-term goal is for the not-for-profit organization to be viable, self-financed and established in its own kitchens. With regard to production, it’s chef Sébastien Houle who coordinates the kitchen operations. He also initiated the project. When he took an enforced pause from the restaurant business last spring, his eyes were opened to the situation.

“Since 2013 there has been a need for an establishment making these kinds of products. We’re usually so busy with the tourists, but there’s a poverty problem we didn’t see and nobody was making these kinds of meals,” Mr. Houle explains. He’s the owner-chef of the restaurant Chez sEb.

Sébastien Houle. ©Courtoisie

Regional solidarity

Other restaurateurs, such as Casey’s, Saint-Hubert Mont-Tremblant, Pizzateria, Le Râtelier, Pub au Coin and Fat Mardis help with the logistics, supplies and product inventory. The P’tit Caribou recruits volunteer chefs, among others.

According to Dominique Laverdure, who’s in charge of communications, the success of Chefs à la rescousse is linked 100 per cent to the incredible way our community has stepped up.

The prepared meals are sent to food counters in the Laurentians, like that of the Samaritaine for example, which handles distribution to the most needy, working with Centraide Hautes-Laurentides (United Way).

At the moment, Chefs à la Rescousse provide about 100 hot meals a week to the Mont-Tremblant popote roulante (meals-on-wheels).

Starting in January, 200 meals a week will be sent to Sainte-Adele, which shows the extent of the needs waiting to be filled. “With Covid, the volunteers who were usually involved with the popote are more uncommon, or they’re not allowed to help. So we’re taking over for them,” Sébastien Houle notes.

A tourtière for a good cause

Since early December, Chefs à la rescousse has been selling tourtières au porc effiloché – traditional Québec Christmas meat pies – as a fundraising campaign. Cooked in the facilities of La Brigade, the tourtières are sold for $15 each and all profits go to the Chefs à la Rescousse.

You can order them online (chefsalarescousse.com) or buy direct at La Brigade or at the Mont-Tremblant IGA until January 15, 2021. At the time of writing, 500 tourtières had been sold, making the organizers confident that they would reach their objective of 1,500 tourtières.

Giving back

Chefs à la rescousse thanks real estate agency Versants Mont-Tremblant for its substantial gift of $5,000. While the health crisis was of benefit to the real estate sector, it was only natural for broker Pascale Janson to give back. “We feel pretty lucky as brokers, but we feel that things are not distributed evenly. (…) The chefs are being put to the test by the pandemic, but they’re the ones rolling up their sleeves to help the most needy. It’s doubly honourable,” Ms Janson emphasizes.

For the longer term, the Chefs à la rescousse organization hopes to become permanently established, because food needs existed well before the virus arrived. It will now be up to the new manager hired by the charitable organization, Jenny Prud’homme, to ensure that the donations, the help from volunteers and the dedicated kitchens that are to be developed nourish the mission of redistributing the affluence, one meal at a time.

Persons needing food assistance can contact the Centre d’Action Bénévole des Laurentides at 819 425-8433

 

More from this author by clicking on her picture below.

Geneviève Huchette

 

Geneviève Huchette45 Posts

Geneviève Huchette a grandi à Montréal et a complété un baccalauréat en agronomie à McGill. Après ses études et quelques voyages, elle a atterri à Mont-Tremblant en 2008, d'abord pour un emploi sur une ferme biologique. Alors qu'elle continue de jardiner pour le plaisir, Geneviève travaille actuellement dans les domaines du yoga, de la vente au détail et de la rédaction. Dans ses temps libres, elle adore les sports en montagne, les jeux de société et jouer de la musique. Geneviève Huchette grew up in Montreal and completed a bachelor degree in Environmental and Agricultural Sciences at McGill University. After years of studying and travelling, she landed in Mont Tremblant in 2008, first to work on an organic farm. Although she still enjoys gardening for fun, Genevieve presently works in various domains: yoga, retail and writing. In her leisure time, she likes mountain sports, board games and playing music.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Chefs à la rescousse : Plus qu’une aide d’urgence

©iStock

L’organisme Chefs à la rescousse, fondé par une union de restaurateurs et de commerçants régionaux lors de la première vague, poursuit sa mission en 2021. Depuis les débuts du projet en avril 2020, plus de 20 000 plats préparés ont été livrés aux personnes dans le besoin grâce à une vague d’entraide et plus de 235 000 $ en dons et subventions ont été distribués.

L’objectif à long terme est que l’organisme à but non lucratif soit viable, auto-financé et installé dans ses propres cuisines. Au niveau de la production, c’est le chef Sébastien Houle qui coordonne les opérations en cuisine. Il est aussi à l’origine du projet. C’est en prenant une pause forcée de la restauration au printemps dernier qu’il s’est ouvert les yeux sur la situation.

« Depuis 2013, il y avait un besoin pour un établissement qui fait ce genre de produits. Habituellement, on est tellement occupé avec le tourisme, mais il y a un problème de pauvreté qu’on ne voyait pas et personne ne faisait ce genre de plats là, » explique M. Houle, chef-propriétaire du restaurant Chez sEb.

Sébastien Houle. ©Courtoisie

Une solidarité régionale

D’autres restaurateurs, tels que Casey’s, Saint- Hubert Mont-Tremblant, Pizzateria, Le Râtelier, Pub au Coin et Fat Mardis aident avec la logistique, l’approvisionnement et l’inventaire des produits. Le P’tit Caribou recrute entre autres des chefs bénévoles.

Selon Dominique Laverdure, responsable des communications, le succès de Chefs à la rescousse est 100 % relié à cette mobilisation incroyable au sein de notre communauté.

Les mets préparés sont ensuite envoyés à des comptoirs alimentaires des Laurentides, comme celui de La Samaritaine par exemple, qui s’occupent de la distribution auprès des plus démunis en cohérence avec Centraide Hautes-Laurentides.

En ce moment, Chefs à la rescousse fournit environ 100 repas chauds par semaine à la popote roulante de Mont-Tremblant.

Dès janvier, 200 repas par semaine seront envoyés à Sainte-Adèle, ce qui démontre l’étendue des besoins qui n’attendaient qu’à être comblés. « Avec la Covid, les bénévoles qui s’impliquaient habituellement dans la popote se font plus rares, ou bien ce n’est pas permis. On prend donc ça en charge pour eux, » souligne Sébastien Houle.

Une tourtière pour une bonne cause

Depuis décembre, Chefs à la rescousse vend des tourtières au porc effiloché comme campagne de financement. Cuisinées dans les installations de La Brigade, ces tourtières sont vendues au prix de 15 $ et tous les profits sont remis à Chefs à la rescousse.

Il est possible d’en commander en ligne (chefsalarescousse.com) ou d’en acheter directement à La Brigade ou au IGA de Mont-Tremblant jusqu’au 15 janvier 2021. Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, déjà 500 tourtières avaient été vendues, ce qui donnait espoir aux organisateurs d’atteindre leur objectif de 1 500 tourtières.

Donner au suivant

Chefs à la rescousse remercie l’agence immobilière Versants Mont-Tremblant pour son don substantiel de 5 000 $. Alors que la crise sanitaire a été bénéfique pour le secteur immobilier, il allait de soi pour la courtière Pascale Janson de redonner au suivant. « On se sent bien chanceux comme courtier, mais on sent que les choses ne sont pas distribuées de façon égale. (…) Les chefs sont éprouvés par la pandémie, mais c’est eux qui se relèvent les manches pour aider les plus démunis. C’est doublement honorable, » souligne Mme Janson.

À plus long terme, l’organisme Chefs à la rescousse souhaite s’établir de façon permanente, car les besoins alimentaires existaient bien avant l’arrivée du virus. Ce sera maintenant le rôle de la nouvelle gestionnaire engagée par l’OBNL, Jenny Prud’homme, de s’assurer que les dons, les coups de main bénévoles et l’aménagement de cuisines dédiées nourrissent la mission de redistribuer l’abondance, un plat à la fois.

Les personnes ayant besoin d’aide alimentaire peuvent contacter le Centre d’Action Bénévole des Laurentides au 819 425-8433.

 

Plus de cette auteure ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Geneviève Huchette

 

Geneviève Huchette45 Posts

Geneviève Huchette a grandi à Montréal et a complété un baccalauréat en agronomie à McGill. Après ses études et quelques voyages, elle a atterri à Mont-Tremblant en 2008, d'abord pour un emploi sur une ferme biologique. Alors qu'elle continue de jardiner pour le plaisir, Geneviève travaille actuellement dans les domaines du yoga, de la vente au détail et de la rédaction. Dans ses temps libres, elle adore les sports en montagne, les jeux de société et jouer de la musique. Geneviève Huchette grew up in Montreal and completed a bachelor degree in Environmental and Agricultural Sciences at McGill University. After years of studying and travelling, she landed in Mont Tremblant in 2008, first to work on an organic farm. Although she still enjoys gardening for fun, Genevieve presently works in various domains: yoga, retail and writing. In her leisure time, she likes mountain sports, board games and playing music.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password