Hamstrung by hamstrings

© AdobeStock

Dealing with injuries is a harsh reality for almost any athlete. No matter how careful you are, injuries happen. How you care for an injury determines whether the issue is resolved, or comes back to haunt you for months, years or more.

Mighty muscles

A common injury is a stretch or tear of the hamstring muscles. The hamstrings are those muscles that run down the back of your thigh, the ones that often get overlooked until it is too late. If you are an athlete who sprints, jumps or leaps a lot, who runs regular hill sprints, or who participates in high-intensity explosive training, your chances of tearing a hamstring will be significantly greater than those of an athlete who maintains a consistent and steady pace.

Due in part to the role hamstrings play in acceleration, we often see hamstring tears in runners. The three hamstring muscles control the two big joints, the hip and the knee. Running produces a great deal of tensile strain as the muscles stretch and contract, especially during an intense sprint or leap.

To avoid hamstring injuries, strength training and properly warming up cannot be over stressed in terms of their importance for athletes who perform highly explosive activities.

 Assess and rehab

Should you experience a hamstring injury, I would strongly suggest that you seek the help of a qualified therapist or kinesiologist to make sure you receive a proper assessment and treatment program. Research has shown that people who had a hamstring injury, and who just stretched for their rehabilitation, had a 70 per cent chance of return of the pain.

Athletes who performed progressive resistance exercises for the hamstrings with core and pelvic stabilization exercises had the best results in recovery. A hamstring injury won’t go away from just resting. Seek qualified guidance – and then follow the rehabilitation exercises prescribed.

robfit.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy84 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

Blessures aux ischio-jambiers

© AdobeStock

Presque tous les athlètes subissent des blessures. Même si vous faites très attention, vous pouvez vous blesser. Il faut soigner une blessure de façon à résoudre le problème. Une blessure mal guérie reviendra vous hanter pendant des mois, des années, voire plus.

Des muscles puissants

Une blessure courante est l’élongation ou la déchirure des muscles ischio-jambiers. Les ischio-jambiers, situés à l’arrière de la cuisse, sont souvent négligés, jusqu’à ce qu’il soit trop tard. Si vous êtes un athlète qui fait des sprints, beaucoup de sauts, des courses régulières en colline, ou des entraînements explosifs à haute intensité, vous courez davantage le risque de vous déchirer un muscle ischio-jambier qu’un athlète qui maintient un rythme régulier et constant.

Nous voyons souvent des déchirures des ischio-jambiers chez les coureurs, et cela est en partie dû au rôle que ces muscles jouent dans l’accélération. Les trois muscles ischio-jambiers contrôlent les deux grosses articulations, la hanche et le genou. La course à pied produit beaucoup de tension lorsque les muscles s’étirent et se contractent, surtout lors d’un sprint ou d’un saut.

Pour éviter les blessures aux ischio-jambiers, en particulier chez les athlètes qui pratiquent des activités à haute intensité, on ne saurait trop souligner l’importance de l’entraînement en force et d’un échauffement approprié.

Évaluation et réadaptation

Si vous subissez une blessure aux ischio-jambiers, je vous suggère fortement de demander l’aide d’un thérapeute ou kinésiologue qualifié pour obtenir une bonne évaluation et un traitement approprié. Des recherches ont démontré que les probabilités de voir réapparaître la douleur chez les personnes souffrant d’une blessure aux ischio-jambiers qui ne faisaient que s’étirer étaient de 70 %.

Les athlètes qui effectuaient des exercices de résistance progressive pour les ischio-jambiers et de stabilisation du tronc et du bassin obtenaient de meilleurs résultats en termes de récupération. Le simple fait de vous reposer ne suffira pas à guérir une blessure aux ischio-jambiers. Demandez conseil à une personne qualifiée – puis faites les exercices de réadaptation prescrits.

robfit.ca

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Robert Roy

 

Robert Roy84 Posts

Kinésiologue reconnu et un expert chevronné, Robert Roy utilise l’exercice à des fins de prévention, de réhabilitation et de développement athlétique. Il cumule plus de 20 ans d’expérience avec des athlètes de tous les niveaux. Il a bâti le Quartier Général RobFit afin d’offrir un environnement d’entraînement hors pair dans la région. / Well-known kinesiologist and seasoned professional Robert Roy uses exercise for its preventive and rehabilitative virtues as well as for athletic development. He has more than 20 years of experience with athletes of all levels, and more recently built the Quartier Général RobFit in order to provide an outstanding training environment in this area.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password