Exploring the land by RV

© Guillaume Vincent

Recreational vehicles, more commonly known as RVs, campers or trailers, are increasingly visible on our highways in summer. They have as many destinations as they do itineraries. Fully equipped, these wonderful homes on wheels theoretically mean adventures that involve freedom and the great outdoors. The charm fades, however, when the vehicles are parked side-by-side close to a highway.

Is there a better way to enjoy summer in an RV? Tremblant Express tested the Terego solution.

Founded in 2017 by Sainte-Agathe native Michèle Bourassa and her daughter Karine Morin, Terego makes available to its members – for a membership fee of $105/ year – a large network of hosts, allowing Terego members to discover the land from behind the wheel of an RV. Members can camp for a night on unique sites, enjoy the huge country spaces of farmers and producers and discover, in a most authentic way, a region and its inhabitants.

The golden rules

To enjoy these free campsites, the traveller must have access to a fully autonomous RV. Campers must leave their site free of any trace of their presence. Forget leaving lines of toothpaste on the ground or any other disrespectful signs that you’ve been there. Travellers with a generator are asked to use it only with the permission of the farmer, and only if they are camped far from other campers.

As you know, road trips can mean unexpected circumstances, and travellers should inform the host in the event of cancellation. While Terego’s first goal is to have people explore the terroir and to promote local buying, this kind of camping is much like boondocking, a practice popular in the United States that consists of camping freely in an isolated place, completely autonomously. One of the golden rules is to leave the borrowed land even cleaner than it was when you arrived.

Terego trips: a foodie’s delight First off, exploring the Terego website lets you plan your itinerary and reserve your place with the farmers. The choice is vast: close to 300 hosts, distributed through Québec, the Maritimes, Ontario and even British Columbia, welcome members of this community of campers. And the welcome is warm.

The advantage is that you can do your grocery shopping on-site. Seasonal fruits and vegetables, homemade prepared dishes, terrines, foie gras, eggs fresh that morning, honey harvested from the honeycombs, breads and sweet dough pastries, artisanal items…in other words, you’ll lack for nothing. The sites Nicely laid out in rolling fields, the sites are huge and provide a fabulous outdoors experience.

Some farmers offer access to hiking trails that allow campers to discover the backcountry, others offer discovery circuits and yet others print maps to make access to the closest lakes and rivers easy-peasy. Did we mention that the welcome is warm? Of course, it’s fascinating, as well, to chat with farmers who are truly passionate about what they do and to learn more about how products are grown or made. In short, it’s a happy time.

“It’s our first year with Terego and everything is going really well. It’s a super concept,” says Pascal Klein, owner of the business Les Canardises (featuring duck products) in Saint-Ferréol-les-Neiges. “The travellers all have the same general profile: they are open, curious people who want to find out how products are made,” Pascal explains.

“It’s fairly subjective to buy a product when you don’t know what was done to it before it got to you. Here, people can find out how it all happens. We are even developing an ‘outdoors’ line for Terego. We’re going to offer cooked meals that are very easy to reheat and are made with quality products: duck tajine, tandoori, General Tao, chili, smoked meat and more.”

In short, nothing but happiness. But did we mention that already?

terego.ca

 

More from this author by clicking on his photo below.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent277 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Comments

Leave a Comment

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password

À la découverte du terroir en VR

© Guillaume Vincent

Les véhicules récréatifs (VR), plus communément appelés motorisés ou campeurs, sont de plus en plus nombreux à sillonner les routes à la belle saison. Leurs destinations sont aussi multiples qu’il existe d’itinéraires. Tout équipés, ces merveilleux véhicules permettent en théorie des escapades où liberté rime avec plein air. Le charme est toutefois rompu lorsqu’ils gisent côte à côte en marge de l’autoroute.

Existe-t-il une meilleure façon de profiter de la belle saison en VR ? Tremblant Express a testé la solution Terego.

Créé en 2017 par l’Agathoise Michèle Bourassa et sa fille Karine Morin, Terego met à la disposition de ses membres – pour des frais d’adhésion de 105 $ par an – un large réseau d’hôtes permettant de découvrir le terroir au volant de son VR. Les membres peuvent ainsi camper une nuit sur des sites uniques, profiter des vastes espaces champêtres des producteurs du terroir et découvrir de façon authentique une région et ses habitants.

Les règles d’or

Ces stationnements gratuits requièrent toutefois un VR offrant une autonomie complète. Les campeurs ne doivent laisser aucune trace de leur passage. Exit les trainées de dentifrices sur le sol et autres gestes disgracieux. Les voyageurs munis d’une génératrice sont par ailleurs priés de l’utiliser uniquement avec l’autorisation du producteur, et seulement s’ils campent loin des autres campeurs.

C’est bien connu, les road trips confèrent une part d’imprévus et il est de mise de prévenir l’hôte en cas d’annulation. Bien que l’objectif premier de Terego réside dans l’intention de faire découvrir le terroir et de promouvoir l’achat local, ce type de camping s’apparente au boondocking. Pour rappel, cette pratique fort populaire aux États-Unis consiste à camper librement dans un endroit isolé en complète autonomie. Une des règles d’or est de quitter le terrain emprunté plus propre qu’il ne l’était à l’arrivée.

Road trip gourmand avec Terego Tout d’abord, rendez-vous sur le site internet de Terego qui vous permet de planifier votre itinéraire et de réserver votre place chez les producteurs. Le choix est vaste; près de 300 hôtes répartis au Québec, dans les Maritimes, en Ontario et même en Colombie-Britannique accueillent désormais les membres de cette communauté de caravaniers. Et l’accueil est chaleureux.

L’avantage est qu’il est possible de faire ses emplettes sur place. Fruits et légumes de saison, plats préparés maison, terrines, foie gras, œufs frais du matin, miel récolté à même les rayons, pains et viennoiseries, artisanat ; bref, vous ne manquerez de rien. Les sites sont harmonieusement aménagés dans les champs vallonnés, les terrains sont vastes et procurent une expérience de plein air fabuleuse.

Certains producteurs offrent l’accès à des sentiers de randonnée permettant de découvrir l’arrière-pays, d’autres proposent des circuits de découverte et d’autres encore ont pris soin d’imprimer des cartes pour faciliter l’accès aux plans d’eau les plus proches. Avons-nous mentionné que l’accueil était chaleureux ? Bien entendu, il est également fascinant de discuter avec les producteurs qui sont de véritables passionnés et d’en apprendre plus sur la façon dont les produits sont cultivés ou confectionnés. Bref, que du bonheur.

« C’est notre première année avec Terego et tout se passe très bien, c’est vraiment un super concept », souligne Pascal Klein, propriétaire de l’entreprise Les Canardises, à Saint-Ferréol-les-Neiges. « Les voyageurs ont tous le même profil, ce sont des gens ouverts et curieux qui veulent découvrir comment les produits se font »,explique  Pascal.

« C’est assez subjectif d’acheter un produit quand on ne sait pas ce qui se passe en amont. Là, ils peuvent prendre connaissance de comment ça se passe. Nous développons même une gamme de plein air pour Terego. On va offrir des plats cuisinés faits avec des produits de qualité et très faciles à réchauffer comme des tajines de canard, des tandooris, du général Tao, des chilis, des smoked meats, etc. »

Bref, que du bonheur. Mais l’avions-nous déjà mentionné ?

terego.ca

 

Plus du même auteur ? Cliquez sur sa photo ci-dessous.

Guillaume Vincent

 

Guillaume Vincent275 Posts

Rédacteur et journaliste de profession, Guillaume Vincent a fait ses armes au sein de l’agence QMI. Il s’est joint au Tremblant Express en 2014. Promu en 2017, il y assume depuis le rôle de rédacteur en chef et directeur de la publication. / A writer and photojournalist by profession, Guillaume Vincent won his stripes in the QMI agency. He joined Tremblant Express in 2014. Promoted in 2017, he has been editor-in-chief and co-publisher since then.

0 Commentaires

Laissez un commentaire

Login

Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password